Barbarian Rage rounds: Can it be exceeded


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Hi

I have a Barbarian rager who has the elemental rage power which lets him gain extra rage after taking elemental damage.

My question is: Can My rage rounds of 28 a day be exceeded if I gain rage rounds from this power? Thus say

I rage for a round, take 12 points of fire damage and gain 3 rounds of rage. I stop raging, becoming fatigued. I started at 28 rage rounds, lost one but gained 3.

Does this mean I am back on 28 rage or have I gained 3 more and gone to 30 rounds of rage to hold on to?

Thanks

Silver Crusade

I think your question is about having more than your maximum number of rounds 'banked' at a time? The situation above would leave you with 30 rounds remaining?

I don't see a problem with that, as you are gaining extra rounds, and they just add on. You will just get to 31 rounds used eventually and run out.


Quote:
Elemental Fury (Ex): At 3rd level, whenever the elemental kin takes an amount of energy damage equal to or greater than her barbarian level while raging, she adds 1 to the total number of rounds that she can rage that day. At 6th level, and every three levels thereafter, the number of extra rounds per energy attack increases by +1, to a maximum of +6 rounds per energy attack at at 18th level. This ability replaces trap sense.

This one ?

I would rule that you cannot have more than your maximum rounds of rage (28 for you) per day. There is no rule support for breaking the limit of your maximum rounds of rage per day (as there is for hitpoints -> temporay hitpoints).


I don't see a reason why you couldn't exceed your maximum, as the ability doesn't say that it is limited by your maximum.

Shadow Lodge

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Eridan wrote:
Quote:
Elemental Fury (Ex): At 3rd level, whenever the elemental kin takes an amount of energy damage equal to or greater than her barbarian level while raging, she adds 1 to the total number of rounds that she can rage that day. At 6th level, and every three levels thereafter, the number of extra rounds per energy attack increases by +1, to a maximum of +6 rounds per energy attack at at 18th level. This ability replaces trap sense.

This one ?

I would rule that you cannot have more than your maximum rounds of rage (28 for you) per day. There is no rule support for breaking the limit of your maximum rounds of rage per day (as there is for hitpoints -> temporay hitpoints).

I disagree. That ability specifically says it adds 1 to the total rage rounds that she can rage that day. It doesn't say it adds a rage round to your current pool but that it is added to your Total Per Day. So each time your number/day goes up by that much for that day.


RAW, yes, that's how it works.


PatientWolf wrote:


I disagree. .. So each time your number/day goes up by that much for that day.

Good point. The term 'total rage rounds' can be an opener for further discussions but the ability is not OP. So i dont start a discussion and give you a +

Shadow Lodge

Eridan wrote:
PatientWolf wrote:


I disagree. .. So each time your number/day goes up by that much for that day.
Good point. The term 'total rage rounds' can be an opener for further discussions but the ability is not OP. So i dont start a discussion and give you a +

Hmmm...I can see your point that "total rage rounds" could be subject to interpretation, although I think the meaning of actual total not current total is the most natural reading. So it would be wise to clarify with your GM in advance to be sure how it will work in your particular game.

Liberty's Edge

Thanks. This is in regards to Pathfinder Society which can be a big kettle of fish rules wise to sometimes wrap my head around where everything needs to be codified to the nth degree. It came up recently where I was constantly gaining rage rounds and bouncing above the max I thought I could normally have.


The raging deathblow feat has similiar wording and states that when you rest you lose any bonus rage rounds you might have. So I'm pretty sure you can go above your starting rage rounds.


Technically, you can use this to bank extra rounds of rage per day.

If you attempted to exploit this at my table through whatever means, I'd probably make a ruling on it one way or another; something along the lines of:
a) you need to actually be in combat with a hostile enemy for it to work or
b) the "bonus rounds" are consumed first, and following combat, you lose any unspent rounds in excess of your normal maximum.

Shadow Lodge

Bizbag wrote:

Technically, you can use this to bank extra rounds of rage per day.

If you attempted to exploit this at my table through whatever means, I'd probably make a ruling on it one way or another; something along the lines of:
a) you need to actually be in combat with a hostile enemy for it to work or
b) the "bonus rounds" are consumed first, and following combat, you lose any unspent rounds in excess of your normal maximum.

This isn't necessarily a question of an exploit. It would be if he were standing in camp and letting the Wizard cast scorching ray at him over and over but that isn't the sense that I was getting.

It is conceivable to go over your max per day when hit with elemental damage in a legitimate battle. I'm still of the thought that it does add to your actual total/day. I'm inclined to agree with Will, however, that when you rest they go away.


Important to mention that the ability states you must take this damage, so no resistance/absorption to prevent it.

Liberty's Edge

Exactly. It came to the point where I was being targeting with scorching ray and I wanted the BBEG to roll HIGH, so if I passed the save I might still take enough damage to get some extra rage :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Barbarian Rage rounds: Can it be exceeded All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.