Combo Blessing of Zarongel + Incendiary Cloud


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Let's say Merisiel is facing a villain with two checks. Seoni plays Incendiary cloud, then plays blessing of Zarongel.

Am I right in thinking that would mean Merisiel would have 4 D4's with the fire trait for the first check then the blessing's power expire for the second check and Merisiel is down to 2 D4's. If Merisiel was also using a heavy crossbow, her base attack is not considered to have the fire trait, only the D4s from the incendiary cloud right? So Bl of Zar would not give her 2 extra D12's for the Crossbow as those dice dont have the fire trait. Only the 2 D4s from Incendiary.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Incendiary Cloud instructs you to not only add dice, but also to add the Fire trait to the check to defeat a monster. So Merisiel's check would have the Fire trait. Once played, the check itself would have the Fire trait.

Blessing of Zarongel then would give Merisiel 2 dice of what ever base skill she was using. The Blessing adds 2 dice of her base skill, not of the specific die that happened to be associated with whatever added the Fire trait. So if she is using a dexterity weapon she gets to add 2d12 from the Blessing of Zarongel.

This is similar to playing Blessing of Pharasma. If someone casts Guidance and then a Blessing of Pharasma is played on the same check, you add 2 dice of the base skill for the check, even though Guidance doesn't add dice.

The Blessing of Zarongel is only good for "a" check, as in 1 check. So while the Incendiary Cloud remains in effect for the duration of the turn, the blessing does not.

So here is an example turn (cutting out irrelevant steps):

Merisiel encounters a monster with a check to defeat of combat 10.
Seoni plays Incendiary Cloud (+2d4).
Merisiel plays her Dart (Dexterity + 1d4).
Kyra plays Blessing of Zarongel.
Merisiel will roll 3d12 + 3d4. Her check will have the traits Dart, Ranged, Piecing, Basic, and Fire.
Merisiel defeats the monster.

Merisiel plays a blessing to explore her location.
She encounters a villain with a check to defeat of combat 10 then combat 12.
For the first check Merisiel plays her Dart again.
Seoni plays Blessing of Pharasma. No spell was played on this check.
Incendiary Cloud (+2d4) is still in effect, but was not played on this check.
Merisiel will roll 2d12 + 3d4. Her check will have the traits Dart, Ranged, Piecing, Basic, and Fire.
She succeeds.
For the second check she again plays her Dart.
Kyra plays Guidance (+1).
Seonie plays another Blessing of Pharasma.
Incendiary Cloud (+2d4) is still in effect, but was not played on this check.
Merisiel willl roll 3d12 + 3d4 + 1. Her check will have the traits Dart, Ranged, Piecing, Basic, and Fire.
She succeeds.


Aaaaah ok that really clears it up. Thanks so much.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Combo Blessing of Zarongel + Incendiary Cloud All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion