Alchemist Bomb for AoO?


Rules Questions


Under the Bomb supernatural ability it reads:
Bombs are considered weapons and can be selected using feats such as Point-Blank Shot and Weapon Focus.

So if an Alchemist has Weapon Focus (Bombs), Rapid Shot, BAB+6 and a min Dex of 13, he'd qualify for Snap Shot:

Snap Shot feat from prd:
Benefit: While wielding a ranged weapon with which you have Weapon Focus, you threaten squares within 5 feet of you. You can make attacks of opportunity with that ranged weapon. You do not provoke attacks of opportunity when making a ranged attack as an attack of opportunity.

While Bomb also says:
"Drawing the components of, creating, and throwing a bomb requires a standard action that provokes an attack of opportunity."

That's no different than any other range weapon, i.e. using ranged weapon is standard action that provokes. Sooooo, it looks like you could use Bombs for AoO, right? I haven't found anything on the messageboards or FAQ that contradict or support this. Anyone?


You dont threaten so no aoo


Two problems:

Using bombs is specifically a standard action, whereas other ranged weapons use the attack action or full attack action. This, however, should be solvable with Fast Bombs.

The other problem is instability; outside the action used to attack with the bombs, the bomb does not exist, and you're not wielding it. I don't see any way to overcome this. You could do it with an acid flask, though.


Thanks for the quick responses.

BloodyManticore: Snap Shot is a specific feat that allows you to threaten with the ranged weapon for which you have Weapon Focus. That's the point of the feat.

Pupsocket: Acid flask (alch fire, etc) won't work because there's no weapon proficiency for Splash Weapons, therefore no way for Weapon Focus, therefore can't get Snap Shot with splash weapons. Bombs are specifically the exception as a splash weapon for which an alchemist can get WF, etc.

Intuitively, Fast Bombs + Snap Shot should allow AoO, but RAW, it's more dubious.

Fast Bombs:
"An alchemist with this discovery can quickly create enough bombs to throw more than one in a single round. The alchemist can prepare and throw additional bombs as a full-round action if his base attack bonus is high enough to grant him additional attacks. This functions just like a full-attack with a ranged weapon."

There's nothing there that says it can ONLY be used as part of a full-round action. The first sentence leaves open the door, while the second merely says "can" prepare as part of full round action. But I'd love a more definitive ruling, since it'll affect whether I dip into Archer (Fighter archetype) to get the extra feats & BAB to get Snapshot and Improved Snapshot.

Thanks again.


Uktar wrote:

Pupsocket: Acid flask (alch fire, etc) won't work because there's no weapon proficiency for Splash Weapons, therefore no way for Weapon Focus, therefore can't get Snap Shot with splash weapons. Bombs are specifically the exception as a splash weapon for which an alchemist can get WF, etc.

I posted a thread about this a long time ago that didn't go anywhere (link). Whereas previously alchemical weapons required no proficiency, Ultimate Equipment lists alchemical weapons on a table labeled "Simple Weapons", and categorizes them under light melee weapons, one-handed melee weapons, and ranged weapons. So depending on how much weight you give to that table, weapon focus (acid) might be viable. It's arguable if quick draw would apply. The feat applies to weapons and prohibits alchemical items. I'd allow it for alchemical weapons though, since unlike the other prohibited items they're actually weapons.

Quote:
There's nothing there that says it can ONLY be used as part of a full-round action. The first sentence leaves open the door, while the second merely says "can" prepare as part of full round action. But I'd love a more definitive ruling, since it'll affect whether I dip into Archer (Fighter archetype) to get the extra feats & BAB to get Snapshot and Improved Snapshot.

Ah, no. The first sentence tells you what the discovery accomplishes, the text that follows specifies how. Fast bombs doesn't grant you any benefit beyond the ability to use a full-round action to make a full-attack with your bombs. So snap shot is right out.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Alchemist Bomb for AoO? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions