Do you lose the benefits of Two-Weapon Fighting feat if Enlarge Person drops your Dex below 15?


Rules Questions

101 to 104 of 104 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>

Talonhawke wrote:

I would have to find the example I had years back but basicly if feat A needs you have an ability such as Grab and a feat B requires Feat A but in the process grants you grab do you still need you temp qualifier that you used for feat A to keep it?

I found my original example but it seems the feat has changed since then or i miss read it back then.

The closest thing I could find to this is the feat final embrace

Which both has constrict as a pre-req and then grants constrict its self. However, the constrict ability has to come from your race not a feat so even if it was a seperate feat it wouldn't count in terms of meeting that pre-req.

Goblin_Priest wrote:
A temporary bonus does not make you eligible for feats.

So, wildshape doesn't make you eligible to take improved natural attack?


LordKailas wrote:
Goblin_Priest wrote:
A temporary bonus does not make you eligible for feats.
So, wildshape doesn't make you eligible to take improved natural attack?

I... uh... don't know. I think there's a line somewhere in the rules specifically about that. But maybe I'm thinking of the Fly skill, which says you can't take it unless you have wings, or access to the Fly spell.

But I'm also pretty sure there's a line about temp/perm bonuses and prerequisites which is distinct from that. Perhaps the place that says buffs need to last over 24h to be permanent and count for prereqs?


Goblin_Priest wrote:
LordKailas wrote:
Goblin_Priest wrote:
A temporary bonus does not make you eligible for feats.
So, wildshape doesn't make you eligible to take improved natural attack?

I... uh... don't know. I think there's a line somewhere in the rules specifically about that. But maybe I'm thinking of the Fly skill, which says you can't take it unless you have wings, or access to the Fly spell.

But I'm also pretty sure there's a line about temp/perm bonuses and prerequisites which is distinct from that. Perhaps the place that says buffs need to last over 24h to be permanent and count for prereqs?

fly skill says you can put point into it if you have a reliable daily ability to fly. That includes the fly spell which is very temporary


1 person marked this as a favorite.
LordKailas wrote:
Talonhawke wrote:
So this leads me back around to another question then. If I manage to temporarily qualify for a feat through any of the agreed upon methods and then take a feat that requires the first feat as perquisite but also by virtue of that feat fulfills the prereq I only had temporarily can i now use the feat all the time?

I can't seem to find it now. But I remember reading that if you lose the ability to use a feat, you also can no longer use any feats that list that feat as a pre-req. You still have all of the feats you just can't use them.

So, if Temporary Ability X allows me to qualify for Feat A, and Feat B has feat A as a pre-req. Then I can make use of both feats A and B so long as Temporary ability X is active. When Temporary ability X wears off Feat A turns off which in turn causes Feat B to turn off. Even if Feat B's only pre-requisite is Feat A.

Oh no. You're meddling with powers mere mortals should not touch. Retraining into prestige class levels was shunted into the void because of an analogous argument. True, the Elder Gods of Pathfinder RPG Rules Modification slumber these days, but who can say what forbidden inquiry might awaken them? Who. Can. Say?

101 to 104 of 104 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Do you lose the benefits of Two-Weapon Fighting feat if Enlarge Person drops your Dex below 15? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.