Handing or taking an item from amother pc


Rules Questions


What type of action is taking an item a pc is handing you? Also what type pf action is retrieving a item from a downed pc would it be the same as retrieving a stored item?


Hmm. I'd say immediate to take an item handed to you (letting you actually receive the item on the hander's turn, instead of your own, letting them go off and do something else), though if you don't have an immediate available, a move action will work of course.

For a downed ally, I'd say the same as retrieving a stored item assuming you know where the item is on the person. If looting a corpse for something (say, a key or other small item located in an unknown place on the body), it would be a full round action. Taking something like a belt pouch or a cloak could be standard depending on how easy it is to remove (or even move to take something out of their open hand).

That's my thought on the matter, anyway, and how I'd rule it in my game. I've never seen any specific rules on the question.


I couldent find any specific rules to them

Liberty's Edge

I haven't seen anything to make me believe that a character can accept an item when it isn't their turn. The person taking the item must spend a move action to take it - retrieving the item is the same action whether it is in their belt or in a nearby person's hand.


I'd say it's the same as retrieving a stored item (provokes an AoO as well)


Deja vu...

Picking up/Manipulating an item is always a move action. It doesn't matter if that item is on the ground, on a table, or in an ally's hand. It doesn't matter whether the item is in your space or an adjacent space that you can reach. It always provokes and AoO from anyone who can threaten your space. If they threaten the space where the item is, you can still safely reach into that threatened space without provoking an AoO as long as your own space isn't threatened.

Retrieving an item from a fallen ally is just picking it up if the item is in plain sight (his weapon, his belt pouch, etc.) or it counts as retrieving a stored item if the item is in a backpack or a pouch, just the same as retrieving your own stored item.


And you can ready the action. Soooooo. Enter the Commoner Railgun from 3.x: You have a huge line of people all of whom ready an action to take an item from the person to their left, and then someone holds out an item. The readied actions fire in sequence and the item moves faster than light.


seebs wrote:
And you can ready the action. Soooooo. Enter the Commoner Railgun from 3.x: You have a huge line of people all of whom ready an action to take an item from the person to their left, and then someone holds out an item. The readied actions fire in sequence and the item moves faster than light.

Yeah, I love that trick. If you have 100 archers, don't buy them each a composite longbow. Instead, by a single +2 longbow and give each guy a quiver of arrows. Have them stand in a line, and in a single round, all 100 of them can use that one magic bow to fire an arrow. Priceless.

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
DM_Blake wrote:
seebs wrote:
And you can ready the action. Soooooo. Enter the Commoner Railgun from 3.x: You have a huge line of people all of whom ready an action to take an item from the person to their left, and then someone holds out an item. The readied actions fire in sequence and the item moves faster than light.
Yeah, I love that trick. If you have 100 archers, don't buy them each a composite longbow. Instead, by a single +2 longbow and give each guy a quiver of arrows. Have them stand in a line, and in a single round, all 100 of them can use that one magic bow to fire an arrow. Priceless.

Hahahahahaha!

I've heard of the commoner railgun, but never this. Brilliant!


Wait, how? Standard action to take the bow is readied, then another standard action to fire it, wouldn't it?


No, you wouldn't actually have them ready the action. You would have them delay until the guy to their right finishes his turn. Then they pick up the bow (move) fire (standard), and then either end turn or drop the bow (free action) depending on if the DM allows you to take a weapon from a willing ally without a disarm check.

Reminds me of Zombicide. I've been in many games of that where things go badly at the beginning, and the third or so round is spent passing around a single fire axe and having everyone attack with it.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

1 person marked this as a favorite.

As has been said, picking up an object is a move action, and the fact that the object is in someone's hand rather than on a shelf shouldn't make a difference. So I would call it a reasonable interpretation of the rules to let someone retrieve an object from the grip of a willing ally as a move action.

Alternatively, I would let the first PC spend a move action to place an object into an ally's hand. After all, stowing an item is a move action, as is the catch-all "manipulate an object" action. So putting an object somewhere should be a move action regardless of whether the destination is a sheath or a hand.

So at my tables, I don't care who spends the move action, as long as someone does.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Handing or taking an item from amother pc All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.