Casting Invisibility when under the effects of Glitterdust


Rules Questions

201 to 208 of 208 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | next > last >>

Just to provide what Stephen Ede mentioned, here's the lead designer for the game stating that if you get hit by Glitterdust, you gain none of the benefits of the invisible condition.

[spoiler=Jason Bulmahn]Alright, looks like I got too cute with the logic behind my explanation. Let me be clear...

Glitterdust kills invisibility and all the rules that go with it.
Glitterdust has no effect on other forms of concealment.
Glitterdust also makes it very difficult to hide and might blind you.

That is all... (as it is currently worded).

That means no concealment benefit, no stealth bonus, no denial of DEX to targets you attack - since it cancels the invisibility condition, as a byproduct it cancels the concealment that grants; it would have no effect on things like Blur or Displacement.

So the only area of argument that remains, at least in my view, is whether or not recasting Glitterdust cancels that effect. I still do not see any reason to believe it does; the magical dust created is part of a hostile spell effect not in possession of the target, and so would be unaffected by latter casting\recasting of invisibility effects.


Xaratherus wrote:
So the only area of argument that remains, at least in my view, is whether or not recasting Glitterdust cancels that effect. I still do not see any reason to believe it does; the magical dust created is part of a hostile spell effect not in possession of the target, and so would be unaffected by latter casting\recasting of invisibility effects.

That is the question!

There have been good points on why recasting Invis shouldn't help. But, in my humble opinion (which is irrelevant, really), nothing definitive that explains why with certainty.

Sooo.... FAQ just this question? (I tried to write it neutrally)


10 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

If a creature that is under the effect of Glitterdust is then targeted by an Invisibility spell, do they (and the golden particles covering them) turn Invisible? Or do they turn invisible, but remain visibly outlined by the golden particles from Glitterdust?

Liberty's Edge

Remy Balster wrote:

I assume this insult is directed my direction since I am the most outspoken supporter for the "yes you can go invisible" position? If so... cute... but an unnecessary devolution of the discussion, especially as it is off base. This has never come up in my experience.

As far as I am concerned this is a theoretical problem to be discussed and hashed out with those willing to discuss it. By doing so, perhaps we can all help one another gain a better grasp of the rules as a whole, and learn a couple things in the process.

Even if it is directed at someone else, it isn't very productive. Some people do in fact get 'butthurt' and trying to fuel it further isn't really encouraged here, so to speak.

1) If the comment stings, it must be because it's true, right? I'm sorry for your sad :(

2) As far as I'm concerned this "theoretical" problem does not exist and I stated why in my previous post.

3) If you feel yourself getting "butthurt", perhaps you need to step back and take a deep breath and let it out slowly; it's just a game after all...


Remy Balster wrote:
Xaratherus wrote:
So the only area of argument that remains, at least in my view, is whether or not recasting Glitterdust cancels that effect. I still do not see any reason to believe it does; the magical dust created is part of a hostile spell effect not in possession of the target, and so would be unaffected by latter casting\recasting of invisibility effects.

That is the question!

There have been good points on why recasting Invis shouldn't help. But, in my humble opinion (which is irrelevant, really), nothing definitive that explains why with certainty.

Sooo.... FAQ just this question? (I tried to write it neutrally)

Have marked your question for FAQ.

For me the fact that Jason said Glitterdust kills Invisibility, rather than Dispels, says that while Glitterdust is in effect on a target it simply can't effectively be invisible (whether because the invisibility spell isn't working or because the target is invisble but outlined is irrelevant for our purposes).


Aspasia de Malagant wrote:
Remy Balster wrote:

I assume this insult is directed my direction since I am the most outspoken supporter for the "yes you can go invisible" position? If so... cute... but an unnecessary devolution of the discussion, especially as it is off base. This has never come up in my experience.

As far as I am concerned this is a theoretical problem to be discussed and hashed out with those willing to discuss it. By doing so, perhaps we can all help one another gain a better grasp of the rules as a whole, and learn a couple things in the process.

Even if it is directed at someone else, it isn't very productive. Some people do in fact get 'butthurt' and trying to fuel it further isn't really encouraged here, so to speak.

1) If the comment stings, it must be because it's true, right? I'm sorry for your sad :(

2) As far as I'm concerned this "theoretical" problem does not exist and I stated why in my previous post.

3) If you feel yourself getting "butthurt", perhaps you need to step back and take a deep breath and let it out slowly; it's just a game after all...

Hrm, you seem to actually want to cause a reaction? This messageboard is intended to be "a fun and friendly" place.

We're human, we have emotions, and inevitably egos get bruised or feelings hurt. What isn't encouraged here is to try to force these things to happen. Keep it friendly and cordial.

Thanks!

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
Remy Balster wrote:
If a creature that is under the effect of Glitterdust is then targeted by an Invisibility spell, do they (and the golden particles covering them) turn Invisible? Or do they turn invisible, but remain visibly outlined by the golden particles from Glitterdust?

With the above reference and what has been posted before, I believe that the outline continues to show where the effected creatures are, no matter if they are still invisible, become invisible, refreshed their invisible state and so on.

I say the only thing that may counter it is Dust if Disappearance.

Liberty's Edge

Remy Balster wrote:
Aspasia de Malagant wrote:
Remy Balster wrote:

I assume this insult is directed my direction since I am the most outspoken supporter for the "yes you can go invisible" position? If so... cute... but an unnecessary devolution of the discussion, especially as it is off base. This has never come up in my experience.

As far as I am concerned this is a theoretical problem to be discussed and hashed out with those willing to discuss it. By doing so, perhaps we can all help one another gain a better grasp of the rules as a whole, and learn a couple things in the process.

Even if it is directed at someone else, it isn't very productive. Some people do in fact get 'butthurt' and trying to fuel it further isn't really encouraged here, so to speak.

1) If the comment stings, it must be because it's true, right? I'm sorry for your sad :(

2) As far as I'm concerned this "theoretical" problem does not exist and I stated why in my previous post.

3) If you feel yourself getting "butthurt", perhaps you need to step back and take a deep breath and let it out slowly; it's just a game after all...

Hrm, you seem to actually want to cause a reaction? This messageboard is intended to be "a fun and friendly" place.

We're human, we have emotions, and inevitably egos get bruised or feelings hurt. What isn't encouraged here is to try to force these things to happen. Keep it friendly and cordial.

Thanks!

Look, I say this for your own good, you really need to learn to take things in stride and grow some "thick skin". Let it slide off you. What do you care what some random person you don't know on the internet says? People can't really go through life letting every insult (real or imagined) get you down.

201 to 208 of 208 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Casting Invisibility when under the effects of Glitterdust All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.