Mythic Spellpower & Augmented Mythic Spells


Rules Questions


18 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

This came up on another thread, but I haven't seen any commentary by a designer about it. The exact wording of the archmage path ability Mythic Spellpower is as follows:

"You have a pool of magical power you can draw upon for casting mythic spells. Up to twice per day, you can use this power to cast a mythic spell without expending any uses of mythic power. You can select this ability up to three times; each time you do, you gain two additional uses of this ability per day."

My reading was that it basically gave you two extra uses of mythic power that could only be used to power mythic spells, but I've seen several people suggest differently.

They argue that what this means is that you can use Mythic Spellpower to pay for the entire cost of casting a mythic spell, even an augmented one, with a single use. For example, you could cast an cast an augmented mythic time stop (something normally requiring 4 uses of mythic power) by expending a single use of Mythic Spellpower. I'm curious as to which is the correct interpretation, because right now I can see a RAW / RAI argument for both.

Any chance I can get some FAQ marks so we can get an official answer?


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I'm of the school of thought that it does exactly what it says: allows you to cast mythic spells without using mythic power, but you are still otherwise restricted by the rules for casting mythic spells:

Mythic Adventures wrote:

Casting Mythic Spells: If you know the mythic version of a spell, any time you cast the spell, you may expend one use of mythic power to convert the spell into its mythic version as you cast it. This doesn't change the level of the spell slot you use to cast the spell.

If you're a caster who prepares spells (such as a cleric or wizard), you never have to prepare the mythic version of a spell—if you prepare the non-mythic version, you may cast it as the mythic version by expending one use of mythic power. Unless otherwise specified, casting the mythic version of a spell doesn't take any longer than casting the non-mythic version.

Still, happy to FAQ, since I can see the argument.


Thanks! I tend to fall on the same side as you, but I think this is a case where rational people can come to logical opposite conclusions.


Mythic Spellpower only works when casting mythic spells, which requires another feat/path ability to be able to cast in the first place. It's not like in the play test when they got a few mythic spells for free. Even then, a character (usually) is limited to knowing one mythic spell per tier. So, Mythic Spellpower is restricted to a very small number of spells, requires other abilities/feats to be of any use, requires 3rd tier, is only available to Archmage, and gives two uses of it's ability (same as Extra Mythic Power, which is a universal, first tier ability, with no restrictions on use.)

Personally, I don't see the issue. I can't imagine paizo would make an ability with so many requirements that provides an lesser benefit than a first tier universal path ability.


Enhasa wrote:

Mythic Spellpower only works when casting mythic spells, which requires another feat/path ability to be able to cast in the first place. It's not like in the play test when they got a few mythic spells for free. Even then, a character (usually) is limited to knowing one mythic spell per tier. So, Mythic Spellpower is restricted to a very small number of spells, requires other abilities/feats to be of any use, requires 3rd tier, is only available to Archmage, and gives two uses of it's ability (same as Extra Mythic Power, which is a universal, first tier ability, with no restrictions on use.)

Personally, I don't see the issue. I can't imagine paizo would make an ability with so many requirements that provides an lesser benefit than a first tier universal path ability.

This is an entirely valid position to take. I don't think my position is any less valid. There is a history of added options that are weaker than existing options, especially if they stack with existing options, in pathfinder.


Bumping this because I would like to hear an answer as well.

At first I thought that the wording would mean this only applies to normal mythic spells and not augmented ones. However, the ability says "without expending any uses of mythic power". Notice that "uses" is plural. Since non augmented mythic spells just cost 1 mythic power to use, there would be no point in it being plural. So, I think this is supposed to apply to all mythic power that would have been expended on the spell, including 'augmented'.


Gonna bump this, would really like an answer. Also kinda wondering if this ability needs a rider of, "You can only use this to cast the mythic version of a mythic spell you know through Mythic Spellcasting or Mythic Spell Lore" at the end.


Bumping this and adding an additional aspect to consider.

Since the path ability is listed as: (Sp), my group and I interpret this to mean that the Mythic spell cast is as a Spell-Like Ability; therefore, they can't be countered, or have any metamagic feats attached to it, and neither does it take up a spell-slot. But as Matrix Dragon mentioned, the augmented version can be used.

While powerful, it does seem balanced.


*Casts Augmented Mythic Animate Thread using mythic spellpower*
Sorry for the necro, but I couldn't find an answer to this question, did I just use some mythic power or was the augment free as well ?

On my side I can see both points. My reading tells me it should only work for the base mythic spell and not to augment them, but then I can't see the point of taking this instead of extra mythic power which you can take three times. So except if you really are stacking as much uses as you can and want to blow 4+ path abilities on points, it seems kind of useless.

It either seems too weak or too strong depending on how you take it.


Utar, Vicar of Pebbles wrote:

Bumping this and adding an additional aspect to consider.

Since the path ability is listed as: (Sp), my group and I interpret this to mean that the Mythic spell cast is as a Spell-Like Ability; therefore, they can't be countered, or have any metamagic feats attached to it, and neither does it take up a spell-slot. But as Matrix Dragon mentioned, the augmented version can be used.

While powerful, it does seem balanced.

To very very necro this, was there ever an answer? I'm in a mythic game right now and... it's hard to justify taking this power if it just lets you cast normally without using a mythic point. Just 'extra mythic power' is better at that point.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Mythic Spellpower & Augmented Mythic Spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.