Inescapable Gloves and teleportation


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

Hello all, my question is as follows:

Suppose a villain of mine has a pair of Inescapable Gloves on. This is how they function:

"The palms of these light doeskin gloves are covered with supple ripples to augment the wearer's grip. The wearer gains a +4 competence bonus on combat maneuver checks to grapple. The wearer can expend one use of mythic power when a creature subject to freedom of movement or a similar effect attempts to escape the wearer's grapple with a combat maneuver check or Escape Artist check. That creature must attempt the check as normal instead of automatically succeeding at it. If a creature attempts use a non-mythic teleportation effect to escape the grapple, the wearer can expend two uses of mythic power to negate that effect."

Specifically thinking of the last line of the item's description, if one of my Mythic PCs casts a dimension door or uses a time step ability, or other teleportation effect that doesn't result from mythic powers does it count as a non-mythic teleportation effect? Or does the mythic nature of the PC make it a mythic effect?


Yes, the effect is non-mythic. The character would have to use a mythic spell, a path ability, or perhaps a mythic item.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Inescapable Gloves and teleportation All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.