AoO with different weapons


Rules Questions


well, i built a ranger/sorc/DD with a bardiche and a spiked gauntlet hoping to enlarge myself and threat 20ft but my GM says that i cant throw a punch with a gauntlet and an attack whith the bardiche at the same time (i have combat reflexes) is this correct? if it is so, should i switch to a spiked armor instead?


Not sure what you mean by "at the same time"

That said a bardiche is a reach weapon so it doesn't threaten the same area a spiked guantlet does.


If your GM says it, it is defacto correct.

But as far as the rules go, no, it is not correct. You can attack with either weapon as you please.

Letting go of and regrasping a two handed weapon with one of your hands is a free action.


You won't be able to have both weapons available for an AoO at the same time. If you don't grip the bardiche with both hands, it doesn't threaten any squares (thus you'll only threaten with the gauntlet). If you do grip the bardiche with both hands, then the gauntlet doesn't threaten.

Even if your GM allows the grip-changes to happen on other people's turns, you must have the correct grip at the time the potentially provoking action occurs. You couldn't wait to see which weapon would be most beneficial.

So, you'll have to choose on your turn whether to grip the bardiche with both hands and thus only threaten with it, or holding the bardiche with one hand and only threaten with the gauntlet.


Are wrote:
You won't be able to have both weapons available for an AoO at the same time. If you don't grip the bardiche with both hands, it doesn't threaten any squares (thus you'll only threaten with the gauntlet). If you do grip the bardiche with both hands, then the gauntlet doesn't threaten.

This one. To let go or grab your weapon is a free action, and free actions are normally allowed only on your turn, so you will have to choose if you want to threaten with the gauntlet or with the bardiche when it is not your turn.

You could use armor spikes but your GM can say no to this option too, as senseless as it may sound, because of this armor spikes FAQ.

Such ruling seems to prevent any form or "dual wielding with a two-handed weapon", since you don't actually need hands for a spiked armor. You could maybe get around this issue is with Improved Unarmed Strike, since kicks, headbutts and the like are also allowed as unarmed strikes (also, you are investing a feat in order to threaten adjacent squares).

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Invest in a weapon that doesn't utilize the hands required to wield the Bardiche.


blackbloodtroll wrote:
Invest in a weapon that doesn't utilize the hands required to wield the Bardiche.

I only know Blade Boot and Boulder Helmet. Anything else?


EldritchBoar wrote:
blackbloodtroll wrote:
Invest in a weapon that doesn't utilize the hands required to wield the Bardiche.
I only know Blade Boot and Boulder Helmet. Anything else?

Armor spikes are the perennial favorite. They're an excellent choice for the reach-user.


EldritchBoar wrote:
blackbloodtroll wrote:
Invest in a weapon that doesn't utilize the hands required to wield the Bardiche.
I only know Blade Boot and Boulder Helmet. Anything else?

Barbazu beard and (as others have mentioned) armor spikes. Or, if you have a feat to burn, take Improved Unarmed Strike.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber
EldritchBoar wrote:
blackbloodtroll wrote:
Invest in a weapon that doesn't utilize the hands required to wield the Bardiche.
I only know Blade Boot and Boulder Helmet. Anything else?

Barbazu Beard, Sea knife, Armor Spikes, unarmed strike.


I was considering armor spikes and US as implicit but it wasn't clear, my bad.

Barbazu beard looks like a good comprimise between comical and badass, too bad it grants AOO when used.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / AoO with different weapons All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.