Can you crit again when confirming a critical hit?


Rules Questions


Okay so I'm new to Pathfinder and have only done 9 sessions of DM'ing and 1 session of playing so far. We've always played as if you can crit again while rolling for confirming a critical (my players learned me the basic rules and then I've basically used d20pfsrd or asked them if I had any questions). But I can't find anything about this (don't own the books), and googling gave me nothing except that you couldn't do it in 3.5. But my player said it's in the core rulebook, but since I don't own it I can't look, I just think it would say so on d20pfsrd if you could.

So basically: Can you crit again while confirming a critical? Or have we played wrong all the time? Also, if you can do it, please link me to the rule saying where you can (or a rule/anything saying opposite if there is one).


As far as I know, it's a common houserule. There is no "official" rule about it, though a lot of tables play that way. Just as some tables have critical fumbles & some dont. Nothing wrong about that.


This is a house rule for Pathfinder; it may have been an optional rule for an earlier edition of D&D, but not certain of that.

You can find the official Paizo rule site at http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/; I use d20pfsrd.com as well but it is fan-operated and is not always 100% accurate.

To quote the relevant rules ection:

Combat - Critical Hits wrote:

Critical Hits: When you make an attack roll and get a natural 20 (the d20 shows 20), you hit regardless of your target's Armor Class, and you have scored a “threat,” meaning the hit might be a critical hit (or “crit”). To find out if it's a critical hit, you immediately make an attempt to “confirm” the critical hit—another attack roll with all the same modifiers as the attack roll you just made. If the confirmation roll also results in a hit against the target's AC, your original hit is a critical hit. (The critical roll just needs to hit to give you a crit, it doesn't need to come up 20 again.) If the confirmation roll is a miss, then your hit is just a regular hit.

A critical hit means that you roll your damage more than once, with all your usual bonuses, and add the rolls together. Unless otherwise specified, the threat range for a critical hit on an attack roll is 20, and the multiplier is ×2.

So if you roll a critical threat, you roll a second time and if that exceeds the target's AC, then the weapon deals damage equal to its critical multiplier; even there is no 'critical threat' on the second roll by RAW.


It is a common house rule, but not RAW. If that's how your group rolls, go for it, but it'll suck the first time an enemy with a x3 or higher multiplier does it to you.


Allright, thanks a lot all three of you! We (me and the guy who thought it was an actual rule) decided it's best to talk about it with the rest of the group before next session. I personally think it can do a bit too much damage at times especially when you have a 17-20 crit range.

Thanks again!


Do you use hero points? Maybe you could set things up so that if they threaten, then confirm with a role that would also be critical they can spend a hero point for a "Super crit" where they just keep rolling a d20 until they role something that wouldn't deal a crit. Then add up whatever the mutliplier is apply damage. Since its tied to hero points and randomness it wouldn't happen very often at all, but when it did happen you could potentially do a tremendous amount of damage in a single blow for a nice cinematic kill.

Sczarni

The game system "Rolemaster" did that. You had open-ended critical hits and critical fumbles, using percentile dice. IIRC, a 96-100 result allowed you to add another die roll, and a 01-05 made you subtract another die roll.

So, it'd be possible to jump to the moon on a 700+, for example, but you could also kill yourself if you missed with a dagger (or something to that effect).

You can probably find used books for cheap, now, since the company went belly up long ago.


MOAR LIKE "ROLLMASTER" AMIRITE?

I'm so sorry.

Sczarni

People also referred to it as, "Chartmaster".

Liberty's Edge

We have a few special house rules surrounding this. If a player rolls three 20s in a row, the target immediately dies -- no saving throw. If the player rolls two 20s in a row and confirms the crit on the third roll, he/she automatically does max crit damage. Fun stuff.


FrankManic wrote:
Do you use hero points? Maybe you could set things up so that if they threaten, then confirm with a role that would also be critical they can spend a hero point for a "Super crit" where they just keep rolling a d20 until they role something that wouldn't deal a crit. Then add up whatever the mutliplier is apply damage. Since its tied to hero points and randomness it wouldn't happen very often at all, but when it did happen you could potentially do a tremendous amount of damage in a single blow for a nice cinematic kill.

Nope we don't. It's the first campaign I ever run, so I like to keep it simple. I do like the concept of hero points though, and thanks for the suggestion!

And about Rolemaster, surely sounds like a fun system for less serious games, but I wouldn't like that kind of stuff in the Pathfinder game i run. Thanks for the suggestion though.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can you crit again when confirming a critical hit? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions