Breaking line of effect


Rules Questions


The Limp Lash FAQ showed me that I do not really understand one game concept: What kinds of spells end when the line of effect is broken after they have been cast?

The FAQ says breaking the line of effect ends the spell, so if a target moves around a corner or behind a column, the spell would be over. Does that apply to other spells as well? My understanding always was that as long as you had line of effect when casting a spell, what happens later doesn't matter, neither regarding line of effect nor range. You cannot outrun a charm spell or curse or a summoned creature. The only similar example I know is Flaming Sphere that winks out if out of range.

Or am I mistaken, and spells only last if you keep near enough?


Dancing Lights (evoc)1; Range:100+10*CasterLevel & all within 10ft, lights wink out if they go out of range.
Abundant Ammunition (conj)1; if you pull out a second arrow/bolt the first one vanishes. An odd non-LoE non-range effect.
Floating Disk (evoc)1; The spell ends if you move beyond its range 25+ 5*[CasterLevel/2] or take the disk more than 3 feet away from the surface beneath it.

so there are a couple... that was just picking the first 3 I came across at first level...


Azothath wrote:

Dancing Lights (evoc)1; Range:100+10*CasterLevel & all within 10ft, lights wink out if they go out of range.

Abundant Ammunition (conj)1; if you pull out a second arrow/bolt the first one vanishes. An odd non-LoE non-range effect.
Floating Disk (evoc)1; The spell ends if you move beyond its range 25+ 5*[CasterLevel/2] or take the disk more than 3 feet away from the surface beneath it.

so there are a couple... that was just picking the first 3 I came across at first level...

Yes, I know there are a few spells that have such limitations in their wording. But as Limp Lash does not, I was wondering if there is a general rule in effect here that I am unaware of?


Limp lash seems like a specific case, since you're holding the whip. That's just my interpretation though.


Sorry, I read the spell and it seemed clear to me and I concur with the FAQ, so I don't understand your confusion... Let me try again.

As I posted Limp Lash is not unique in its limitation of LoE. Most spells have a limited AoE or LoE and once you exceed those or cut them (such as using a Wall of Stone) the spell effect ends beyond the curtailed LoE. Should the spell have a manifestation (such as a weapon) then cutting off the LoE to it ends the spell. This is the same as with Spiritual Weapon. Spiritual Weapon you can easily outrun and cause to terminate early should the cleric not reassign it to another target in range.
Limp Lash is unique in that you must busy one hand with it (hold it) and it has a short (20ft) range. This makes it easy to run away from. I did look to see if you could at least oppose the target's movement, but the spell does not give you any way to do so. So it's a lame spell IMO useable only in confined areas or where the target is already near helpless. Simply running around pillars in the AoE trying to cause the lash to weave between pillars is not going to cause the LoE to run out. The lash is a magical effect and can reform around the pillars so long as you are in the LoE as measured from the caster to you.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Breaking line of effect All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions