Bushwackers and Regaining Grit


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

The bushwacker kobold archetype for the gunslinger states:

Bushwacker wrote:
In addition to all the ways any gunslinger can regain grit, a bushwhacker who reduces a helpless or unaware opponent to 0 hit points or fewer also regains 1 grit point.

Is this replacing the requirements for regaining grit from the gunslinger, or in addition? Does that mean that a bushwacker could regain grit by killing a helpless animal between combats? Or do they still need to have HD equal to at least half the gunslinger's level?


In addition. Apparently bushwhackers can murder small animals for grit. I suggest keeping a bag of tranquilized kittens handy for this purpose.


It is in addition to. Let's recall what it is being added to:

Grit wrote:

Grit (Ex)

A gunslinger makes her mark upon the world with daring deeds. Some gunslingers claim they belong to a mystical way of the gun, but it’s more likely that the volatile nature of firearms simply prunes the unlucky and careless from their ranks. Whatever the reason, all gunslingers have grit. In game terms, grit is a fluctuating measure of a gunslinger’s ability to perform amazing actions in combat. At the start of each day, a gunslinger gains a number of grit points equal to her Wisdom modifier (minimum 1). Her grit goes up or down throughout the day, but usually cannot go higher than her Wisdom modifier (minimum 1), though some feats and magic items may affect this maximum. A gunslinger spends grit to accomplish deeds (see below), and regains grit in the following ways.

Critical Hit with a Firearm: Each time the gunslinger confirms a critical hit with a firearm attack while in the heat of combat, she regains 1 grit point. Confirming a critical hit on a helpless or unaware creature or on a creature that has fewer Hit Dice than half the gunslinger’s character level does not restore grit.

Killing Blow with a Firearm: When the gunslinger reduces a creature to 0 or fewer hit points with a firearm attack while in the heat of combat, she regains 1 grit point. Destroying an unattended object, reducing a helpless or unaware creature to 0 or fewer hit points, or reducing a creature that has fewer Hit Dice than half the gunslinger’s character level to 0 or fewer hit points does not restore any grit.

As I see it, the bushwacker effectively ignores the bolded text. That means all other requirements apply, so your target still must be at least half of your HD. So unfortunately the Bag-o-Kittens will not work.

Since buckwackers get sneak attacks, presumably this is a balance mechanism to ensure bushwackers can actually regain grit.

Be sure to keep this in mind:

Quote:
This expands the way in which the bushwhacker gains grit points, so a bushwhacker who gains grit points in this way only gains 1 grit point for reducing a helpless or unaware opponent, not 2 grit points.

Dark Archive

Wolfmang wrote:

Since buckwackers get sneak attacks, presumably this is a balance mechanism to ensure bushwackers can actually regain grit.

Enemies denied dex to AC (but not flat-footed) are not caught unaware... but regardless, which is it? Only have 2 opinions at the moment, and both are conflicting :-/


Enemies denied Dex due to being unaware, however, are unaware, so a one-hit kill/KO/whatever would normally deny the gunslinger grit. Bushwackers can regain grit despite this.

RAW is ambiguous about how "in addition to" relates to the other limitations. RAI is almost certainly what Wolfmang said, hence the tongue-in-cheek bag-o-kittens suggestion to demonstrate how silly it would be.

Dark Archive

So the consensus is that things are murky RAW, but RAI it's on top of the other prerequisite, rather than an addition to the rule completely separate from the rest of it?


It isn't all that murky. It simply allows you to get grit by killing helpless or unaware creatures whereas all other gunslingers cannot.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Bushwackers and Regaining Grit All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.