Magic Jar and self only spells


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

If I magic jar into someone and cast a spell like dust form or alter self then leave what happens. The body is no longer a valid spell so does it remain or end or transfer with soul?

What about a mind effecting spell? If I am in a body and some one casts dominate person and targets the host body does it hit my soul or does it effect the host? If I am the subject does it end when I leave the body?

What about more other spells like haste, bull strength or ray of enfeeblement?

Last question, what about polymorph spells like alter self? Baleful polymoprh? (that one is tricky if you fail both saves?


As GM I would be tempted to so say that all magic that targets creatures bonds to the soul unless it is polymorph stuff.

Baleful polymorph would be trick still.

If there is no rules for this I would be interested to hear how others would or have run it.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Physical spells affect the body. Mental effects travel with the mind.


If that is the case then some very nice buffs could be added to a party fighter.

Is there rule for this somewhere LazarX?

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Mathius wrote:

If that is the case then some very nice buffs could be added to a party fighter.

Is there rule for this somewhere LazarX?

You're going to find that that there isn't a rule for every corner case maneuver for how someone is going to use every spell. As a GM, the best strategy is to use contextual logic and run with it. What I can say, is that I don't know of a rule that disputes my statement.

Why don't you stop being coy and tell us what exactly you have in mind? I suspect that you have one or more specific agendas behind this question.


I am going to be running a NPC witch against my party soon and I was thinking of having her use Magic Jar but I do not want to target the party with it since they will be protected form evil and it would not be fun.

I was thinking of having her have durable allies around and use them to protect her life. I was not sure what would stay and what would go when she needs to change from one body to a another. Things like mage armor or death ward. I also have PC who loves baleful polymorph and so I brought that one up as well.

I did not mean to be coy, since this is the rules forum I tried to keep why I need the ruling out of it. I see why it could be seen this way.

Since I found no rules for this either I guess this could be moved to advice on what would be the best (most fun) way to run it.

Thanks for answering

Weird thought since you use your own feats and not those of the host, what happens if one of your has toughness and the other does not. I would go with no change in HP.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Here's the thing when you magic jar, you're going to have to keep one thing in mind... Your defenseless body. If you cast mage armor on your first guard, when you magic jar into him. (Note. Mage Armor CAN be cast on other people, it's not a self only spell), that spell effect will stay with his body when you abandon it, as well the physical buffs you give it.

On the other hand, if you're feebleminded, than that condition stays with YOU when you leave the body.

Your NPC witches best defense is her companions/dominated slaves/etc.


Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

I have asked extremely similar questions a number of times before. I've not had a firm answer to any of them yet.

Ongoing Spells and Magic Jar | Magic Jar Questions | A Tricky Question: Magic Jar and Other Enchantments | At What Point Are You NOT Considered "You?"

(I strongly encourage people to FAQ the opening posts in the second and fourth links, as they cover a lot Magic Jar's ambiguities.)


@Lazar I intend to have minions doing alot of the work but it is not a bad failsafe to be magic jared into a mook. Just when they think they have killed the witch she comes back again or flees. Still working out the details but yeah I think in might be overpowered to have buffs travel with you.

Thanks RD, just confirms there are not rules out there for this stuff.


Mathius wrote:

If I magic jar into someone and cast a spell like dust form or alter self then leave what happens. The body is no longer a valid spell so does it remain or end or transfer with soul?

Its been an open question for a long time.

What you want to avoid is having as a means to get personal spells onto other people, etc. This opens up a can of worms that you will wish to avoid in your adjudication of the spell.

-James

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magic Jar and self only spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.