Scenarios can be run exactly twice by any player. Once as a player, and once as a GM.


Pathfinder Society

Grand Lodge

As the topic reads, i understand that scenarios can be run exactly twice by any player. Once as a player, and once as a GM. But can one choose not to run the scenario as a player and do it twice as a GM? (Applying the credit to different chars of course).

I'm asking because i just DMed my first PFS scenario. I'd be happy to DM it again, but I don't really want to play (as a player) as I know the scenario so well now.

Thanks in advance for any responses.

Liberty's Edge 2/5

1 person marked this as a favorite.

As the topic reads, i understand that scenarios can be run exactly twice by any player. Once as a player, and once as a GM.

Replace the first instance of player with person. Once as a Player, Once as a GM.

Then knock the whole statement there on its head. You can play in a scenario ONCE for a chronicle sheet. You can get a max of one chronicle sheet for gming it. So 2 chronicle sheets. You can play it as many times as you want and gm it as many times as you want but you are only ever going to get 2 chronicle sheets.

You can run any scenario multiple times as a gm. You can choose when reporting it the first time not to take credit for that session. You might do it on running 2 or running 34. Its up to you.

5/5 5/55/5 * Venture-Captain, Germany—Hamburg

Also, everytime you GM a scenario, you get credit towards GM stars. Once you gain your first GM star (after 10 tables of credit), you may gain additional credit for one scenario of your choice, either playing an additional time for credit getting an additional GM chronicle.

What you cannot do, however, is getting an additional GM chronicle by choosing not to play the scenario for credit ever. If you don't want to play the scenario because you feel too familiar with the scenario, you simply don't gain that player chronicle.

You might still consider not running the scenario for a while and hope you forget some of the details, then play it with one of your characters. Of course, you will still have to inform the GM you already ran it as a GM.
Sure, there will be some situations where you have player knowledge that your character doesn't have and have to keep that out of your character's knowledge, but at least you know the overall topic of the scenario so you know which of your characters would have the most fun ;)

Grand Lodge 5/5 ****

No - you can't get GM credit (a chronicle) twice for the same scenario. It does count for your GM stars - so you could become a 1-star GM with just a single scenario.

Getting a second chronicle you have to play.

I do understand you are new. At that stage I also tried to get as many chronicles as possible. But believe me - in the early days you didn't even get one at all as GM (albeit that was even before my time as GM).

One chronicle allows you to keep up with a character. And who knows - there might be a time you might want to play that scenario. I like to play the ones I GMed eventually. It helps to do so after a while and on a different tier. I also do this sometimes to help a new GM - so I lean back with a bard - do mainly support and stay out of crucial decisions - but I can give feedback/answer questions if a GM wants (I stay shut otherwise - nothing worse as a back bench GM who isn't invited to help - but it can be helpful in the right circumstances).

Grand Lodge

Thanks for the responses everyone. I get it now and makes sense.

Dark Archive 1/5

Pathfinder Adventure, Companion, Lost Omens, Pathfinder Accessories, Rulebook Subscriber

There is actually an additional caveat. While you "can" play it for no-credit a second time, according to the rules, this is ONLY supposed to be done in order to allow a table to make (i.e. there are only 3 players). If there are 4+ players, you cannot replay it for no-credit according to the Rules for Organized Play (p.18)

Rules for Organized Play wrote:
You may only replay a scenario in order to follow the “Play, Play, Play” rule to make sure a legal table happens. This means that if you previously played a scenario but the only way to make a legal four-person table is for you to replay it again, relay is now allowed. From another perspective, if three of the four players have already played a scenario but the forth player has not, the three players may elect to replay the scenario to ensure the fourth is part of a legal table. You may not replay a scenario just for the fun of it.

Dark Archive 5/5

Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Maps Subscriber

Criik, I don't see that text on page 20 of the Season 5 Guide to Organized play, where are you quoting from?

Grand Lodge 4/5

There is also a caveat that level 1 scenarios (like first step and the new evergreen) and 1-2 modules (like thornkeep part 1, muder's mark, etc) can be replayed/re-GMed for credit to be applied to level 1 characters. You can't have the same chronicle on the same character however.

Liberty's Edge 4/5 5/55/5 ** Venture-Lieutenant, California—Sacramento

3 people marked this as a favorite.

Did someone just Quote "Play, Play, Play!" rules that have not been in the Guide for a looong time?....

*Head Explodes*

Liberty's Edge 2/5

From the current Guide:

"If you have already played a scenario and wish to replay it for any reason, you must inform the GM that you have already played the scenario. Some GMs may not be comfortable running an adventure for players who have foreknowledge of what is to come. If your GM is not comfortable with you replaying a scenario, you must find another GM who is. GMs have the right to deny players the opportunity to replay a scenario for any reason, but all GMs are encouraged to be as flexible as possible when replay is the only option that allows them to seat the minimum legal number of players at a game table."

There are other guidlelines, such as receiving a second chronicle with zeroes for XP, Prestige, and gold.

I had a questions since I've re-played once - can your character permanently die during a replay?

5/5 5/55/5 * Venture-Captain, Germany—Hamburg

Quote:
I had a questions since I've re-played once - can your character permanently die during a replay?

I think he/she can. I think it's one of the reasons they introduced handing out replay chronicles with 0 XP, PP, gp; you might have to note conditions gained/cleared and items purchased/sold during the scenario.

I don't have the current Guide handy, though, so I can't give you an exact quote on that.

Grand Lodge 5/5

Andreas Forster wrote:
Quote:
I had a questions since I've re-played once - can your character permanently die during a replay?

I think he/she can. I think it's one of the reasons they introduced handing out replay chronicles with 0 XP, PP, gp; you might have to note conditions gained/cleared and items purchased/sold during the scenario.

I don't have the current Guide handy, though, so I can't give you an exact quote on that.

The Guide doesn't say it explicitly, but because you do get a "zero'd" Chronicle sheet whenever you re-play to make a legal table the very strong implication is that if your PC dies, it counts.

It is interesting to note that the text in the Guide 5.0 only requires a "zero'd" Chronicle be given when the replay is due to making a legal table. If you are just replaying for fun, the text does not cover this case and one could argue that you do not need to take a "zero'd" Chronicle sheet and that your PC death may not count (depending on the GM's interpretation).

Grand Lodge

My underlining question here was if there was a ruling to encourage a DM to run a scenario twice. To which the answer is no. Which is fine.

I just thought that it would make sense to have such a ruling as DM's are in higher demand than PCs and this would promote more games.

For example, I just ran a PFS scenario for the first time. I'd really like to run it one more time (instead of playing it as a player) to learn from my mistakes and gives the second round of players a better experience.

Silver Crusade 5/5

So run it again, there is nothing stopping you from doing so.

Sure you won't get a chronicle sheet for it. But I like running the same scenario multiple times as it becomes more polished with each run...

Liberty's Edge 4/5 5/5

1 person marked this as a favorite.
0time wrote:
My underlining question here was if there was a ruling to encourage a DM to run a scenario twice.

The next time you run it you'll get another point towards your GM stars (with the benefits that brings), while having to do far less prep than the first time you GMed it.

Grand Lodge 4/5

0time wrote:

My underlining question here was if there was a ruling to encourage a DM to run a scenario twice. To which the answer is no. Which is fine.

I just thought that it would make sense to have such a ruling as DM's are in higher demand than PCs and this would promote more games.

For example, I just ran a PFS scenario for the first time. I'd really like to run it one more time (instead of playing it as a player) to learn from my mistakes and gives the second round of players a better experience.

Do it because it's fun?!? I have re-run a few games now to accommodate the group's needs. I like GMing however. The sheets are nice...having fun is the main goal however.

Shadow Lodge 4/5

Don Walker wrote:

The Guide doesn't say it explicitly, but because you do get a "zero'd" Chronicle sheet whenever you re-play to make a legal table the very strong implication is that if your PC dies, it counts.

It is interesting to note that the text in the Guide 5.0 only requires a "zero'd" Chronicle be given when the replay is due to making a legal table. If you are just replaying for fun, the text does not cover this case and one could argue that you do not need to take a "zero'd" Chronicle sheet and that your PC death may not count (depending on the GM's interpretation).

The same passage could be used to argue that replays "to make a legal table" are the only replays allowed. Please just give a zero'd chronicle to anyone who is replaying no matter the circumstances.


A wonderful anecdote from Chris Mortika's 300 games thread. I found the timing amusing :)

Dark Archive 1/5

Pathfinder Adventure, Companion, Lost Omens, Pathfinder Accessories, Rulebook Subscriber
Dragnmoon wrote:

Did someone just Quote "Play, Play, Play!" rules that have not been in the Guide for a looong time?....

*Head Explodes*

Damn. Posting from work and I had the wrong version of the guide saved off. I humbly apologize for exploding your head just like Scanners.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Scenarios can be run exactly twice by any player. Once as a player, and once as a GM. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Society