Ranged Combat


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion

Dark Archive

I've looked through this forum to check for this question: How does RANGED combat work?

Some of the monsters/vilians have references to ranged combat and some of the weapons are (obviously) ranged. But there is no direction on how ranged combat differs from standard.

Can you roll a check on a bane in your location with range, or is range for a helping character at a different location?


Ranged combat isn't different from Melee combat, or "basic" combat. You use different skills for your check, but that's pretty much it. Some powers could allow you to do something special with ranged weapons, such as Harsk special power. But unless a card allows you to do something more than a combat check for your encounter, you can't do anything else.


Basically any weapon that has the ranged trait is considered ranged combat. As stated above it just generally uses a different skill die as its base die (usually Dex). The weapon may also refer to your Ranged skill, like if you read the crossbow card, which will be a subskill of a major skill. So it will read something like Dexterity d12, Ranged +2 on your character card.

Other than that, its the same as all other combat.


So in combat with Harsk you could check the ally Archer in the check.


A combat check becomes a "Ranged combat check" if either:

(a) you find a way to ue your RANGED skill on the check, or

(b) you play a card that adds the Ranged trait during the "Determine the Skill You’re Using" step of the check sequence.

Only Harsk has the RANGED skill so (b) is the most normal route to getting a 'Ranged combat check'. Even so, Harsk usually has to play a weapon with the Ranged trait before he can use his RANGED skill anyay.

Similarly, a "Melee combat check" works in the same way (but more characters have the MELEE skill and it can be used without weapon cards so the above (a) and (b) example will make more sense in that context!).


If a monster does "ranged" damage (as opposed to ranged combat damage), may that damage be prevented by revealing an armour card? Why should that be different to Fire or Acid damage (where revealing armour does not work)??


AFAIK, combat damage happens in two ways:

1) if you fail a Combat check (this is not the same as failing a check against a monster/henchman/villain)

2) if the damage dealing card explicitly says that it's causing "combat damage"

If a source just says "Ranged damage" then I'd have to assume it's not "Ranged combat damage" unless that card is FAQed.

As such, if your armor only helps with combat damage then it won't help. (But some armors are good for all damage, check the cards carefully!)

I hope that helps!


A helpful tip on whether you can or can't reduce damage...watch for the words "Before the encounter..." or "After the encounter..." on the cards. Anything before or after is not considered combat damage and thus cannot be reduced by armor.

Ben


Cheez wrote:

A helpful tip on whether you can or can't reduce damage...watch for the words "Before the encounter..." or "After the encounter..." on the cards. Anything before or after is not considered combat damage and thus cannot be reduced by armor.

Ben

Not quite true. "Before the encounter..." and "After the encounter..." are not Combat.

However, if a card says something like: "Before the encounter, 1d4 Combat damage is dealt..." then that damage *is* combat damage, even though it did not occur during combat.


@Cheez - I refer you to my previous comment ;) I don't think it's relevant to worry about whether or not damage you take is during an encounter. Even if it's in an encounter but you didn't try a combat check (e.g. if you chose to test Divine against the Spectre) then it's not combat damage.


That's exactly how we felt the rules worked - so a character in full plate (who would not have taken any combat damage, but remains vulnerable to - say - fire damage) nonetheless took one point of Ranged damage when she was shot outside of combat by a goblin. She was quite distressed by it.


Given the circumstance that a ranged fighter character with a bow/crossbow would have the inability to move away from an adjacent enemy be able to make a ranged attack at that same enemy?


Pathfinder Card Game, Maps, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Holy necro Batman! That said, this is a thread about the card game, are you sure you're in the right forum? The card game has no notion of "distance" to an enemy while making checks against them.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Ranged Combat All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion