Mystic Form of the Dragon's breath weapon damage problem


Rules Questions


3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

"The spell’s bonuses to ability scores increase by 2, the natural armor bonus increases by 1, and the breath weapon damage increases to 10d6."

Normally, Form I has a 6d8 breath, Form II has a 8d8 breath and Form III has a 12d8 breath. Here's my problem: by a strict reading of the Mystic version, all breath weapons become 10d6... and that means that Form II and Form III get a weaker breath weapon. It says "increases", but it sounds more like "changes".

I would have seen understood this mystic upgrade if the breath weapon damage would have been doubled instead of being changed. I mean, for a 6th, 7th and 8th Mystic spells, 12d8, 16d8 and 24d8 all sound like more appropriate damage charts.

So... does the Mystic breath weapon damage actually change to the said amount... or is it actually a error?


Huh... any input?


There does not seem to be a problem the way that text reads to me. WHen the "increases" can't happen, they don't apply. Just use the original damage if it is better.

There might be errata someday, because it reads like the scaling for the other versions might have been lost to a copypasta error.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I just give 2 extra dice each to the Form 2 and Form 3. That's what the text implies to me, but it may not have been written in to save space.


I don't think it was a space-saving issue, seeing as how that interpretation contradicts the actual text. Someone was probably going off of memory and made a mistake. Since the RAW is impossible to follow for II and III (you can't increase something to a lesser amount), you'll have to house rule something appropriate. It'd have been simpler if they had just added two dice, increased the die size, or maximized the damage.


blahpers wrote:
I don't think it was a space-saving issue, seeing as how that interpretation contradicts the actual text. Someone was probably going off of memory and made a mistake. Since the RAW is impossible to follow for II and III (you can't increase something to a lesser amount), you'll have to house rule something appropriate. It'd have been simpler if they had just added two dice, increased the die size, or maximized the damage.

Well, at this point, it's a houserule. What I think we need is a clarification or an errata.

I mean, not only does the damage DEcrease, but it also changes type, from d8 to d6. That doesn't add up.

Did they mean that the breath weapons would be more powerful? If so, how? Like I said, I could see that the damage would double in the mythic version, or maybe get multiplied by 150%. However, I'd like to hear what do the author think about this issue first.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Mystic Form of the Dragon's breath weapon damage problem All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.