PFS Grenadier Clarifications


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I'm creating my first level 2 PFS character, and I'm strongly considering Gnome Grenadier. I've spent a bunch of time reading the rules and searching the boards, but still, many questions remain about what's legal/RAW for PFS. To wit:

QUERIES: All these are intended for PFS usage
1) You buy bolts in lots of ten. Could you buy a lot of ten Adamantine bolts with 2 Prestige Points (i.e. 10 adamtantine bolts would cost 600, or 601gp)?
2) While Abundant Ammo doesn’t replenish blanches, any adamantine arrow/bolt (or mithral,etc) would be replenished, since it’s the arrow itself, not a coating, right?

Hybridization Funnel: Ultimate Equipment pg. 304
3) Is Shard Gel considered a liquid for use with HF? (i.e. HF only blends alchemical "liquids")
4) Can you use Ambrosia (Advanced Race Guide pg. 1) as a Splash Weapon (i.e. more expensive Holy water, if need arose)
5) Can you use Hybridization Funnel to combine Holy Water and Ambrosia to make a hybridized splash weapon doing damage from both?

Grenadier’s Alchemical Weapon (Su) ability
6) Does an Alchemist add his INT to an Alchemical Weapon infused arrow (i.e. doesn't splash, does Alch Throw Weapon Ability damage bonus apply)?
7) Can you use a Hybridized Funnelized alchemical product for AW infusion, e.g. infuse an arrow with an Alch Fire & Acid combo?
8) Since Alchemical Weapon is Supernatural infusion, i.e. not just a mundane coating like poison or blanching, does Abundant Ammunition interact with Alchemical Weapon the same way it does with Magic Weapon, i.e. if you cast Abundant Ammo first, then use AW to infuse an arrow, is it replenished as AW-boosted ammo the next round?
9) James Jacobs has posted “you can't infuse a splash weapon like a bomb.” Can you use AW to infuse something to a Tanglefoot or Tangleburn bag, since they are not splash weapons? What about Thunderstone, i.e. infuse Flash Powder to a Thunderstone to make a flashbang (granted, by RAW the flash affect would only affect the direct target, not AoE, though Thunderstone would work as normal)? Or would that not work because Thunderstone has area of effect?

10) Is it PFS-legal to come up with mundane version of a Flashbang: Could you use Alchemical Adhesive to attach Flashpowder to a Thunderstone? Common sense would lean toward yes, but I'm betting it's not legal for PFS play.

Alchemist's Explosive Missile discovery (Su)
11) Can you infuse an Alchemical Weapon to arrow, then use Explosive Missile with the same arrow? Nothing in RAW seems to contradict this one.
12) If Abundant Ammo has been cast, and then you use Explosive Missile, does it get replenished as an Explosive Missile beginning of the next round? RAW seems to say yes, but can't believe that's right...
13) While this has been mentioned on more than one thread, I'd love confirmation: Since Explosive Missile makes it a Standard Action to infuse, load, and shoot an arrow or bolt, you can use it to infuse load and shoot a Heavy Crossbow as a Standard Action? that's RAW, right?

Regarding Raining Arrow item (Elves of Golarion):
14) Does an Alchemist get +INT bonus to damage with Raining Arrow (since it damages as a splash weapon, right)?
15) Can you use Alchemical Weapon to infuse a Raining Arrow with an extra (full) dose of Holy Water (or Ambrosia)? Again, seems like RAW says yes, though the Holy Water AW wouldn't splash.

Regarding Tumor Familiar:
16) If I take the Tumor Familiar discovery the same level I take Improved Familiar (feat), can my initial tumor familiar be an improved familiar (as long as character meets the reqs for lvl, alignment, etc)? And would it be at no gp cost, since it’s my first familiar? (i'd need to dip a level in something to get this synchronization)

17) Would Flame Oracle (Advanced Player's Guide pg. 47) Burning Magic mystery apply to bombs? (by RAW, strangely enough, it would only apply to those hit by the splash damage--who get saves)

I apologize for the lengthy post, but I've spent a lot of time looking around and just couldn't figure out the answers.

Thanks


Uktar wrote:


1) You buy bolts in lots of ten. Could you buy a lot of ten Adamantine bolts with 2 Prestige Points (i.e. 10 adamtantine bolts would cost 600, or 601gp)?

2 Prestiege allows purchasing of a single item, never 10 bolts.

Uktar wrote:


2) While Abundant Ammo doesn’t replenish blanches, any adamantine arrow/bolt (or mithral,etc) would be replenished, since it’s the arrow itself, not a coating, right?

Rules Question, not PFS specific.

Uktar wrote:


Hybridization Funnel: Ultimate Equipment pg. 304
3) Is Shard Gel considered a liquid for use with HF? (i.e. HF only blends alchemical "liquids")
4) Can you use Ambrosia (Advanced Race Guide pg. 1) as a Splash Weapon (i.e. more expensive Holy water, if need arose)
5) Can you use Hybridization Funnel to combine Holy Water and Ambrosia to make a hybridized splash weapon doing damage from both?

Rules Questions, not PFS specific.

Uktar wrote:

Grenadier’s Alchemical Weapon (Su) ability

6) Does an Alchemist add his INT to an Alchemical Weapon infused arrow (i.e. doesn't splash, does Alch Throw Weapon Ability damage bonus apply)?
7) Can you use a Hybridized Funnelized alchemical product for AW infusion, e.g. infuse an arrow with an Alch Fire & Acid combo?
8) Since Alchemical Weapon is Supernatural infusion, i.e. not just a mundane coating like poison or blanching, does Abundant Ammunition interact with Alchemical Weapon the same way it does with Magic Weapon, i.e. if you cast Abundant Ammo first, then use AW to infuse an arrow, is it replenished as AW-boosted ammo the next round?

More rules questions, not PFS specific.

Uktar wrote:
9) James Jacobs has posted “you can't infuse a splash weapon like a bomb.” Can you use AW to infuse something to a Tanglefoot or Tangleburn bag, since they are not splash weapons? What about Thunderstone, i.e. infuse Flash Powder to a Thunderstone to make a flashbang (granted, by RAW the flash affect would only affect the direct target, not AoE, though Thunderstone would...

James Jacobs is not a rules source. His answers are frequently how he would run his home game and not indicative of either RAW or RAI.

I hope this was helpful, I suggest trying your rules questions again in the rules forum.


Pirate Rob wrote:
Uktar wrote:


1) You buy bolts in lots of ten. Could you buy a lot of ten Adamantine bolts with 2 Prestige Points (i.e. 10 adamtantine bolts would cost 600, or 601gp)?

2 Prestiege allows purchasing of a single item, never 10 bolts.

Uktar wrote:


2) While Abundant Ammo doesn’t replenish blanches, any adamantine arrow/bolt (or mithral,etc) would be replenished, since it’s the arrow itself, not a coating, right?

Rules Question, not PFS specific.

Uktar wrote:


Hybridization Funnel: Ultimate Equipment pg. 304
3) Is Shard Gel considered a liquid for use with HF? (i.e. HF only blends alchemical "liquids")
4) Can you use Ambrosia (Advanced Race Guide pg. 1) as a Splash Weapon (i.e. more expensive Holy water, if need arose)
5) Can you use Hybridization Funnel to combine Holy Water and Ambrosia to make a hybridized splash weapon doing damage from both?

Rules Questions, not PFS specific.

Uktar wrote:

Grenadier’s Alchemical Weapon (Su) ability

6) Does an Alchemist add his INT to an Alchemical Weapon infused arrow (i.e. doesn't splash, does Alch Throw Weapon Ability damage bonus apply)?
7) Can you use a Hybridized Funnelized alchemical product for AW infusion, e.g. infuse an arrow with an Alch Fire & Acid combo?
8) Since Alchemical Weapon is Supernatural infusion, i.e. not just a mundane coating like poison or blanching, does Abundant Ammunition interact with Alchemical Weapon the same way it does with Magic Weapon, i.e. if you cast Abundant Ammo first, then use AW to infuse an arrow, is it replenished as AW-boosted ammo the next round?

More rules questions, not PFS specific.

Uktar wrote:
9) James Jacobs has posted “you can't infuse a splash weapon like a bomb.” Can you use AW to infuse something to a Tanglefoot or Tangleburn bag, since they are not splash weapons? What about Thunderstone, i.e. infuse Flash Powder to a Thunderstone to make a flashbang (granted, by RAW the flash affect would only affect the direct target, not AoE,
...

Thanks for the quick reply, Rob. I'll hop over to the Rules board, and probably break it down into separate threads for each item/group.

Dark Archive

I'm not sure if the prestige rules allowing only one item are specific also to ammunition that comes in bundles. Wouldn't it be a quiver of ten bolts that you were purchasing?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / PFS Grenadier Clarifications All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.