Recharging magic armours


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Magic armour allows you to recharge it when resetting your hand.

Can you recharge it if it's already been buried (I'd have thought not, but you never know)?

Because otherwise this ability simply allows you to "dump" the card back in the bottom of your deck, to hopefully draw something more useful!


Pathfinder Pathfinder Accessories, Pawns, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Nope. Buried is gone till the next scenario. And you can only recharge cards that are in your hand.

And sometimes if your blessing deck is running low it is worth it to forego armor for that blessing to help you explore more.


I had a player think this meant that, had you played it or already discarded it, you could recharge it when resetting your hand.

My interpretation is that if it is still in your hand while resetting your hand, and you choose to discard it at that time, *then* you can recharge it, but only then.

I think I'm correct?


I agree with you, Kirk. Recharging is a form of "playing a card", and you can only play cards from your hand. You can't play cards from your discard pile (unless they explicitly say so, but I don't think anything like that exists yet).

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Rules (with added emphasis) wrote:
Recharge: This explains circumstances under which you may recharge the card—put it on the bottom of your deck—after playing it...
Rules wrote:

Playing a card means activating a card’s power by revealing,

displaying, discarding, recharging, burying, or banishing the card.

Note also that the recharge text on most spells says "Succeed at a [whatever] check to recharge this card instead of discarding it"—not instead of revealing, displaying, burying, or banishing it.

So you can't recharge it unless you *play* it, and the only form of playing it that triggers the ability to recharge is when you *discard* it to activate its power.

Silver Crusade RPG Superstar 2013 Top 8

So what does the text "If you are proficient with X armors, you may recharge this card when you reset your hand" do on these armors from the Fighter class deck when you reveal them or bury them?


  • Elven Breastplate: powers are reveal/banish/bury
  • Hide Armor of Fire Resistance: powers are recharge/banish/bury
  • Magic Full Plate: powers are recharge/banish/bury
  • Lesser Bolstering Armor: powers are recharge/banish/bury
  • Fortified Breastplate: powers are reveal/banish/bury


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Vic is talking about spells. The RotR Recharge box was covered in the rules as only applying when you played the spell. You couldn't attempt to recharge a spell you were discarding for damage, for example. In the new format for Skull and Shackles, the recharge text explicitly says "After playing" making it clear.

But there are still other ways to recharge cards. Merisiel's "sneak attack" power, for example. And these armors you simply recharge as part of resetting your hand.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

greysector wrote:

So what does the text "If you are proficient with X armors, you may recharge this card when you reset your hand" do on these armors from the Fighter class deck when you reveal them or bury them?


  • Elven Breastplate: powers are reveal/banish/bury
  • Hide Armor of Fire Resistance: powers are recharge/banish/bury
  • Magic Full Plate: powers are recharge/banish/bury
  • Lesser Bolstering Armor: powers are recharge/banish/bury
  • Fortified Breastplate: powers are reveal/banish/bury

...however, to answer your question, the answer is that that text does *nothing* when you reveal, bury, or otherwise play the armor. That power only offers you an option if it's in your hand when you reset it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Recharging magic armours All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion