>>Ask *Tim Hitchcock* ALL your Questions Here!<<


Off-Topic Discussions

Dark Archive

When can we expect an encore? ;)


Really, completely empty after a year? I would love to ask Tim some questions about the White Haired Witch, that he helped design:

First
Is the hair in every way at least as powerful as the prehensile hex (except that it starts with 5ft range and gradually becomes longer)?

The prehensile hair says it's a limb using intelligence for strength (and thus for attack rolls and damage rolls), while the white hair doesn't specify the possibility of using intelligence instead of strength for attack rolls rather than just for damage rolls.

Second
Can the white haired witch use her hair for an AO if she's already grappling someone? For example a lvl 2 male dwarf white haired witch's beard punches an enemy in the face and it automatically starts to grapple enemy #1. Now enemy #2 comes through a threatened tile and gets hit by an AO with the dwarf's curly side hair. - At this point does the beard have to let go yet? - The dwarf also has combat reflexes and a high dex and #3 drinks a potion in range and gets whacked across the face. Since the enemies are tiny weak creatures with bad luck rolling, they all fail to break free. Now it's the dwarfs turn.

-Does he have to spend a standard action to maintain the grapple?
-If he does are all 3 grapples maintained?


Why are you trying to kill us all?

Liberty's Edge Contributor

Julix wrote:
Really, completely empty after a year? I would love to ask Tim some questions about the White Haired Witch, that he helped design:

sorry, if no one tells me there's a thread, I won't find it.

Now when you go to Gen Con, people tell you there's a thread.

Julix wrote:


First
Is the hair in every way at least as powerful as the prehensile hex (except that it starts with 5ft range and gradually becomes longer)?

The prehensile hair says it's a limb using intelligence for strength (and thus for attack rolls and damage rolls), while the white hair doesn't specify the possibility of using intelligence instead of strength for attack rolls rather than just for damage rolls.

a. yes

b. for the hair, all attack and damage modifiers are both determined by intelligence.

Julix wrote:

Second

Can the white haired witch use her hair for an AO if she's already grappling someone? For example a lvl 2 male dwarf white haired witch's beard punches an enemy in the face and it automatically starts to grapple enemy #1. Now enemy #2 comes through a threatened tile and gets hit by an AO with the dwarf's curly side hair. - At this point does the beard have to let go yet? - The dwarf also has combat reflexes and a high dex and #3 drinks a potion in range and gets whacked across the face. Since the enemies are tiny weak creatures with bad luck rolling, they all fail to break free. Now it's the dwarfs turn.

-Does he have to spend a standard action to maintain the grapple?
-If he does are all 3 grapples maintained?

The attack, grapple, and AoO rules work exactly the same for the hair as they would for a human trying to grapple with their arms. The intent here is Flavor... to a huge game breaking advantage of offering extra attacks to low level characters. Assume that the white-haired with is devoting a great deal of mental power to control her/his hair.

So in the first example, no the witch cannot take an extra attack with the hair and yes, the witch would have to break one grapple to start another. That said, certain feats might help push those limitations as the witch advances as would the ability to make additional attacks as she increases in level. While it doesn't explicitly say so in the text, I would allow a white-haired witch with multiple attacks to maintain multiple grapples.
For example three, since you have the grappled condition, you must use a standard action to maintain the grapple, and since three creatures all get the opportunity to break the grapple, then its three separate checks. That's not to say that if you happen to be the GM and you want to speed up play in your home game, you could house rule it down to a single check. Personally, I'm in favor of multiple checks.

Liberty's Edge Contributor

Mythic JMD031 wrote:
Why are you trying to kill us all?

You mean all your character's correct? or have we met in person?

Liberty's Edge Contributor

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Justin Sluder wrote:
When can we expect an encore? ;)

I performed with Rockonomicon (Rone Barton, James Sutter, Jonathan Nelson, and myself) at this years ENnies... does that count?


Tim Hitchcock wrote:
Mythic JMD031 wrote:
Why are you trying to kill us all?
You mean all your character's correct? or have we met in person?

Yes...characters is what I meant. *eyes Tim Hitchcock suspiciously*

Liberty's Edge Contributor

Just checking...

As I've stated many times in the past, GMs kill characters not freelancers.
That said, as a writer I'm writing stuff for me to GM with so the quicker I can kill MY players, the sooner I can get back to writing.

That and great risk makes for greater rewards.

If you've ever read "The Life of Pi" there's a wonderfully esoteric section on how a starving man will look upon a sing fish head as a great blessing.

Paizo Employee Sales Imp

Did we get up to enough hijinks at Gen Con, ya think?

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Pathfinder Accessories, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Tim Hitchcock wrote:

As I've stated many times in the past, GMs kill characters not freelancers.

That said, as a writer I'm writing stuff for me to GM with so the quicker I can kill MY players, the sooner I can get back to writing.

Yeah, but if you kill the characters then all that writing goes to waste as no one ever survives to see it. :)

Liberty's Edge Contributor

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Cosmo wrote:
Did we get up to enough hijinks at Gen Con, ya think?

No... no we didn't! There can always be more and better hijinks.

And there can never be too much Cosmo. I can never get enough Cosmo.

More hijinks I say. Next year we need to fill Nicky Blaine's with an entire crowd of people dressed as 18th century noblemen all playing Baron Munchausen at the same time.

Liberty's Edge Contributor

TriOmegaZero wrote:
Tim Hitchcock wrote:

As I've stated many times in the past, GMs kill characters not freelancers.

That said, as a writer I'm writing stuff for me to GM with so the quicker I can kill MY players, the sooner I can get back to writing.
Yeah, but if you kill the characters then all that writing goes to waste as no one ever survives to see it. :)

I'm only assuming that

A. the PCs want a good challenge.
B. the GM preps the module and knows how they want to present the information in order to tell a good story and run a good game.
C. the players are clever and good enough players that they'll likely survive and if they don't are mature enough to handle a heroic death.
D. they know they game and have probably been playing it a while, and therefore want to have fun.

So, yeah, I'm writing up (which should be taken by everyone as a complement). I assume both the GMs and the PCs want a challenge. Certainly the players in my home game do, so I write material that I'd serve my crew and thats the best I can do. i cannot guess what people outside want, nor do I try to make that guess. That said, I take constructive feedback really well, and definitely appreciate it.

now, enough of my ridiculously serious replies and back to hijinks.

The Concordance

Hello, Tim. I heard you are one of the authors of Seeker of Secrets, I have a question about it.

Seeker of Secrets pg.17 wrote:


Friendly Switch
You elbow an ally out of the way, and take his place on the battlefield.
Prerequisites: Base Attack Bonus +1.
Benefit: As part of your movement or as a 5-foot-step, you can move into the space occupied by an ally of your size or smaller, which displaces the ally into the space you just left. Your ally must be willing and able to move and able to occupy the space you were in. This movement does not provoke attacks of opportunity. This does not count toward your ally’s movement on his next turn.

I wanna know, When you design this Feat at the first time, Is it allowed to be reused in a round? if it can be repeated, a creature can "drag" an ally with 1/3 of its speed. the detail steps just as Belafon's Diagram

It seems to be RAW, but I doubt whether it is your intention.

Community / Forums / Gamer Life / Off-Topic Discussions / >>Ask *Tim Hitchcock* ALL your Questions Here!<< All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.