Mythic vital strike interpretation and clarification


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

First the Feat description by the Book
Whenever you use vital strike, improved vital strike or Greater vital strike,
multiply all bonuses that would normally be multiplied on a critical hit by the number of weapon damage dice you roll for that feat.
Extra damage from sources that wouldn't normally be multiplied on a critical hit isn't multiplied by this feat.

.

In this example lets use a "Double hackbut" thats a 2d12 x4

----------------------------------------------
Questions #1
According to the Mythic Vital Feat you are supposed to "multiply all bonuses that would normally be multiplied on a critical hit by the number of weapon damage dice you roll"

I need clarification on "weapon damage dice".

1- Is it standing for the number of times I add vital strike. (as is x2 for vital strike, x3 for improved vital strike and x4 for greater vital strike.)

or

2- Is it 2d12 = 2 dice so x2, + vital strike would = x4, improved vital strike would = x6 and greater vital strike would = x8 because I am rolling 8d12 for greater vital strike.

----------------------------------------------
Questions #2
Extra damage from sources that wouldn't normally be multiplied on a critical hit isn't multiplied by this feat.

1- Its telling you what damage the feat can multiply.

or

2- It is telling me you can't multiply this damage on a critical hit.


The normal vital strike already tells you the meaning of damage dice there is no reason the mythic feat should use a different definition. So when you use normal vital strike the damage dice refered to is the 2d12. So if you do 4d12+5 with normal vital strike its probably 4d12 +10 with mythic.

As for question 2 sneak attack or flaming or anything else that doesn't improve on a crit wouldn't change.

So if the above chsracter had a flaming gun it woukd be 4d12 +10 +1d6.

Sorry for typos typing on phone


Mojorat-
Questions 1-
From what you are saying, you feel that a greater vital strike with the mystic vital strike would just be x4. (My example one above)

Questions 2-
From what you are saying, the description is talking about the clarification of the type of damage it would affect, (also my example one above)

Now
Vital strike in general is considered precision damage so I am assuming the mythic damage also isn't critable.

IS that what you are saying??


Pathfinder PF Special Edition Subscriber

Essentially from what I understand, you multiply the number by however many dice the feat adds to the roll. So with regular Vital, it's 2 extra dice in this case (Double Hackbut op.), 4 with improved, and 6 with Greater, so it'd be 4d12+15 for regular, 6d12+25 for Improved, and 8d12+35 for greater. At least, that's how I'm reading it.


Pathfinder Companion, Maps, Pathfinder Accessories, Pawns, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Normal Vital strike allows you to RE-Roll your weapon damage more than once so vital strike would change it to 4d12 but because you can't crit with it you would apply it afterwards if you did crit

(2d12 x 4 ) + 2d12

The same would be for the vital strike mythic so lets say we add deadly aim to it it would be as below

(2d12+2 x 4) + 2d12+2

Even thou you can add critible bonuses to you vital strike roll it's still considered a vital strike attack so you won't apply it to and critical confirmation


Typhina- Yah, its a vital feat so precision damage can not be citicaled

FlySkyHigh- I think your right, so at greater vital strike it adds a total of 6 dice to roll from the vial feats so it would be mulitplied by 6.


It comes down to the clarification of, what is "weapon damage dice" the number of dice I am rolling for the weapon or is it the number of extra rolls I am getting from the vital feats?


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
keyafay wrote:

First the Feat description by the Book

Whenever you use vital strike, improved vital strike or Greater vital strike,
multiply all bonuses that would normally be multiplied on a critical hit by the number of weapon damage dice you roll for that feat.
Extra damage from sources that wouldn't normally be multiplied on a critical hit isn't multiplied by this feat.

.

In this example lets use a "Double hackbut" thats a 2d12 x4

Vital Strike is not multiplied on a critical hit, only the original weapon damage.

double hackbut 2d12 - normal weapon damage

vital strike adds 2d12 - vital strike damage

so normal hit is 2d12(normal)+2d12(vital)+Str+other bonuses

critical hit is 2d12(normal)+Str+other bonuses X 4(critical hit modifier) +2d12(vital strike)
The vital strike damage is added AFTER the multiplication for critical hit

keyafay wrote:


----------------------------------------------
Questions #1
According to the Mythic Vital Feat you are supposed to "multiply all bonuses that would normally be multiplied on a critical hit by the number of weapon damage dice you roll"

I need clarification on "weapon damage dice".

1- Is it standing for the number of times I add vital strike. (as is x2 for vital strike, x3 for improved vital strike and x4 for greater vital strike.)

or

2- Is it 2d12 = 2 dice so x2, + vital strike would = x4, improved vital strike would = x6 and greater vital strike would = x8 because I am rolling 8d12 for greater vital strike.

It is 1 as stated in the rules for vital strike, those rules are carried over for mythic vital strike.

keyafay wrote:


----------------------------------------------
Questions #2
Extra damage from sources that wouldn't normally be multiplied on a critical hit isn't multiplied by this feat.

1- Its telling you what damage the feat can multiply.

or

2- It is telling me you can't multiply this damage on a critical hit.

Vital Strike is not multiplied on a critical hit, only the original weapon damage.

See above example


As I said earlier the key to understanding this is that the definition of weapon damage dice doesn't change with the new feat.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Mythic vital strike interpretation and clarification All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.