Breath of Life Need Errata or am I missing something?


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

This spell is strange as it was written. It seems like if when it was made they based on 3.5 rules that says a character dies at -10 HP, otherwise the spell would make no sense.

Pathfinder no longer have spells that kill in an instant such as old Finger of Death, Destruction, Wail of Banshee etc (these do just damage now).

So if the spell can't revive someone who reached more than Con Score then the spell don't work, since below your Con Score in Pathfinder you are still alive.

----------------------------------------------------------------------
Breath of Life

School conjuration (healing); Level cleric/oracle 5; Domain healing 5
CASTING

Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S
EFFECT

Range touch
Target creature touched
Duration instantaneous
Saving Throw Will negates (harmless) or Will half, see text; Spell Resistance yes (harmless) or yes, see text

DESCRIPTION

This spell cures 5d8 points of damage + 1 point per caster level (maximum +25).

Unlike other spells that heal damage, breath of life can bring recently slain creatures back to life. If cast upon a creature that has died within 1 round, apply the healing from this spell to the creature. If the healed creature's hit point total is at a negative amount less than its Constitution score, it comes back to life and stabilizes at its new hit point total. If the creature's hit point total is at a negative amount equal to or greater than its Constitution score, the creature remains dead. Creatures brought back to life through breath of life gain a temporary negative level that lasts for 1 day.

Creatures slain by death effects cannot be saved by breath of life.

Like cure spells, breath of life deals damage to undead creatures rather than curing them, and cannot bring them back to life.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Circle of Death.
Death Knell.
Power Word Kill
Symbol of Death

And that's just in the CRB.


Ah but Finger of Death, Destruction,and Wail of Banshee are Still Death effects if it kills you as a result of the Damage dealt Breath of Life will have no effect.

Sovereign Court RPG Superstar 2011 Top 32

I think I understand your quandry - you are slightly misreading the spell. You are taking the line: "If the creature's hit point total is at a negative amount equal to or greater than its Constitution score, the creature remains dead." out of context - you only check that after you apply the healing from the spell, not before.

So the spell works exactly as it should. You cast it on someone below -Con, and if it brings them back above -Con, they are now alive.


Chemlak wrote:

Circle of Death.

Death Knell.
Power Word Kill
Symbol of Death

And that's just in the CRB.

Creatures slain by death effects cannot be saved by breath of life. Hmm and it seems all the spells you mentioned there are Death effects. So again this spell doesn't seems to work if someone dies. It needs a re-wording/errata.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

You're referring to this bit of the text but I think you're reading it wrong so I will boldly add some bits of my own to clarify:

If cast upon a creature that has died within 1 round (it is impossible to cast other healing spells on someone who is already dead, even for only one round), apply the healing from this spell to the creature. After casting this spell and adjusting the HP of the target, If the healed creature's newly adjusted hit point total is at a negative amount less than its Constitution score, the Breath of Life spell has saved the creature's life and it comes back to life and stabilizes at its new hit point total but after casting this spell and adjusting the HP of the target, If the creature's newly adjusted hit point total is at a negative amount equal to or greater than its Constitution score, the Breath of Life spell has failed to save the creature's life and the creature remains dead.

Hopefully that helps it make more sense.


ryric wrote:

I think I understand your quandry - you are slightly misreading the spell. You are taking the line: "If the creature's hit point total is at a negative amount equal to or greater than its Constitution score, the creature remains dead." out of context - you only check that after you apply the healing from the spell, not before.

So the spell works exactly as it should. You cast it on someone below -Con, and if it brings them back above -Con, they are now alive.

Hmm that makes sense. Still it is confusing, since it is not saying you heal him first before check if the target is still under his Con score. Anyhow Thanks for clarifying this.


ryric wrote:

I think I understand your quandry - you are slightly misreading the spell. You are taking the line: "If the creature's hit point total is at a negative amount equal to or greater than its Constitution score, the creature remains dead." out of context - you only check that after you apply the healing from the spell, not before.

So the spell works exactly as it should. You cast it on someone below -Con, and if it brings them back above -Con, they are now alive.

This


Karse wrote:
it is not saying you heal him first before check if the target is still under his Con score.

Actually it does. Before it says anything about the creature's HP and Con score, it says "If cast upon a creature that has died within 1 round, apply the healing from this spell to the creature."

This means you cast the spell and apply the healing. Since it says this before all the stuff about the creature's HP and Con score, then you do this part first.

The alternative would be "If you don't cast this spell on a creature and apply the healing" but that would make the rest of the paragraph rather meaningless.


Right. Thank you all.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Breath of Life Need Errata or am I missing something? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.