Recharge timing and Druid question


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game General Discussion

Scarab Sages

When do you perform the check to recharge a card?

It seems to be as soon as played though that creates nested checks during other checks when for example Lili (Gnome Druid) casts Inflict to fight a Scout. And another nested check could happen if she decided to cast aid on the recharge roll for inflict.

Alternatively it might be correct to resolve the check with the scout completely and then move on to any recharging. If Lili looses though she may no longer have an Aid card.

Finally, can Lili use the druid power of revealing an a Animal card to add 1d4 on all three of these checks?

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game Designer

Number one unstated rule of Pathfinder: NO NESTED CHECKS. Checks happen and are resolved entirely before any other check can be made. Once you're inside a check, nothing can happen outside it. Inflict's power must be resolved entirely before the recharge roll is made.

Cards don't have memory. If a card has been revealed on one check, it can be revealed on another. So Lini can reveal an Animal on the Inflict's combat check, then the same Animal (or any other) on the Inflict's recharge check.

Mike

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

So for Lini, it is okay to Reveal an Animal Ally for the +1d4 for STR check, Discard the same Ally for to change the die from a 1d4 to 1d10, and then Recharge that Ally because it is an Animal?

Also for Lini, can she Discard a Divine Spell to change her STR die from 1d4 to 1d10 and then Attempt a Recharge roll on that Spell?


I believe the Recharge mechanic for any card or power is based upon playing the card. So if you play a spell or animal you can recharge it (or at least try to recharge if if a roll is required.) But if you choose to discard a card to activate a power or from damage or something you cannot recharge it as you did not play the card.

In your example you can revel for +1d4 and then discard to get 1d10. You do not get to recharge it as you choose to discard it. Same with the spell.

If you discarded any card to get a 1d10 for STR to attack then revealed an animal to get another 1d4 and if that animal card had the text "discard this card to add 1d6 to a combat check" then you WOULD get to recharge that animal as you played the card... discarding to use a power on the card itself... not discarding to feed something else.

At least that is how I understand it from the rules.

Sovereign Court

The recharge mechanic only happens when you discard the card to use its power as opposed to discarding for taking damage or to activating a character power like Kyra's healing (you would discard the divine trait card you revealed even if it had a recharge line). Once you play the card by discarding and you resolve the check you can try to recharge it.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Okay I see it now. Lini's ability states that she can Recharge when she PLAYS an ally that as the Animal trait. I guess if you are just discarding the ally, you aren't really playing it.

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game Developer

TClifford wrote:
Okay I see it now. Lini's ability states that she can Recharge when she PLAYS an ally that as the Animal trait. I guess if you are just discarding the ally, you aren't really playing it.

Hopefully, a close look at the wording will make this clear, but the idea in super-detail is:

When you're playing Lini, AND
when you play an Ally card, AND
that Ally card has the Animal trait, AND
your play uses the Discard play type, THEN
you can Recharge that Animal Ally instead of Discarding it.

If the Ally isn't an Animal, there's no change. If Lini is Revealing the Animal as part of her character card power, there's no change (although there might be in the future). If Lini is discarding the Animal Ally for some other reason, such as taking damage, completing a When Closing clause, or powering another ability, there's no change.

This helps Lini when using the Bear to boost her Combat check, but not when using the Giant Badger to move.

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game Designer

You recharge the spell after you've finished the check the spell participated in.

This is now officially answered in the FAQ.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / General Discussion / Recharge timing and Druid question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in General Discussion