Wild shaping


Rules Questions

The Exchange

Can the Druid at the correct level wild shape into an Invisible Stalker? It lists 'Air Elemental' as a choice.

Air elemental - outsider (air, elemental, extraplanar)
Invisible stalker - outsider (air, elemental, extraplanar)

As far as I can see an Invisible Stalker is an air elemental with the same descriptors.

Or does it mean the specific creature called an Air Elemental?

Sczarni

Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber

It's as per the Elemental Body spells, and I do not see Invisible Stalker as an option.


HAHA you wish.......

Druid wildshape states "When taking the form of an elemental, the druid's wild shape functions as elemental body I." Of course as you get more powerful the I turns into II, III, etc.

Looking over at the spell it states quite plainly that you can turn into a Small air, earth, fire, or water elemental..... this is a specific creature.......

air, elemental,extraplanar are creature types... some ambiguity, sure, but it seems pretty clear to me particularly considering that they named the specific creatures you can turn into.....

most importantly see how the wording varies from beast form:

"When you cast this spell, you can assume the form of any Small or Medium creature of the animal type."

"you can assume the form of a Small air, earth, fire, or water elemental"

Nice try though!!!!!!

The Exchange

Its not a 'try' - i've never played a druid. Its just something that popped up in conversation.

The Exchange

Yeah, sorry, specific monsters are named. At my own table I stretch elemental body, and thus the wild-shaping ability along with it, to include the other Elementals listed in Bestiary 2 - ice, mud, and so on - but that's not rules-as-written. I wouldn't extend it to anything that happens to have the (Elemental) subtype.

Sczarni

Thanks for pointing out the wording between the two forms of Wildshape! Noted.


Mattaus wrote:
Its not a 'try' - i've never played a druid. Its just something that popped up in conversation.

I was just teasing... no harm intended

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Wild shaping All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.