Dual talent stacking with other plus' to ability scores


Rules Questions

The Exchange

Advanced Race Guide: page 72

Dual Talent: Some humans are uniquely skilled at maximizing their natural gifts. These humans pick two ability scores and gain a +2 racial bonus in each of those scores. This racial trait replaces the +2 bonus to any one ability score, the bonus feat, and the skilled traits.

So you could have it with the Adopted trait.

Adopted: You were adopted and raised by someone not of your actual race, and raised in a society not your own. As a result, you picked up a race trait from your adoptive parents and society, and may immediately select a race trait from your adoptive parents' race.

BUT, would it stack with the receiving race's bonus' to ability scores?


Adopted allows you to grab race traits as in traits from the race category, not racial traits which is what you get as part of your 'race package'.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Not entirely sure what you're asking here, but I believe the answer to your question is that you can't pick racial traits with the Adopted trait, you can pick race traits, which are another thing entirely.

The Exchange

Yes.. after thinking about it... the receiving race doesnt have the bonus feat, and the skilled traits. anyway... So they can't be 'replaced'.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Race trait =/= Racial trait.

Shadow Lodge

Mattaus wrote:
Yes.. after thinking about it... the receiving race doesnt have the bonus feat, and the skilled traits. anyway... So they can't be 'replaced'.

Yeah, you arrived at the right conclusion, but you got there via the wrong means.

You cannot use Adopted to take the Dual Talent alternate racial trait, but the problem isn't that they don't have the needed racial traits to trade out.

The problem is that a racial trait is not the same thing as a race trait. A race trait is a trait, of the race category. It is a separate rules element than racial traits.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Dual talent stacking with other plus' to ability scores All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.