Once more, with feeling! Recalling spells and metamagic


Rules Questions


8 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

Based on the basic description of metamagic feats, the base level of the spell is not technically altered by applying the feat (except in very specific circumstances).

When using a magic item (such as a pearl of power) or a class ability (like a Magus's Spell Recall) to recall a spell enhanced by metamagic, how should this function?

There are three schools of thought on it:

1. You pay the cost of the spell's original level, and it re-prepares an unmodified version of the spell (no metamagic applied).

2. You pay the cost of the spell's increased 'level' based on the metamagic feats that were applied, and it re-prepares the spell with those feats.

3. You pay the cost of the spell's original level, and it re-prepares the spell with the applied metamagic feats.

So how specifically should this function? 1 and 2 seem to be the most common table interpretations, and I actually use both - you can prepare the base spell by paying the unmodified cost, or the metamagic spell by paying that cost instead.

But as far as I can read, 3 actually appears to be the correct interpretation of RAW - although I highly doubt it was RAI, because that's disturbingly unbalancing.

(Note: I know this has been discussed before, I'm hoping for FAQ clicks to get designer input on the topic)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Once more, with feeling! Recalling spells and metamagic All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.