Djinni Spin, Djinni Spirit Deafen confusion


Rules Questions


Is there something wrong with Dijinni Spirit and Djinni Spin (specifically at the end).

Dijinni Spirit:

Quote:


Creatures that take electricity
damage from your Elemental Fist attack must succeed at
a Fortitude save (DC 10 + 1/2 your character level + your
Wis modifier) or be deafened for 1d4 rounds. Those who
take damage from your Djinni Spin are deafened, even on
a successful saving throw.

At first glance, I think I understand this, while I have Dijinni Spirit a creature can still be Deafened if I have Djinni Spin. But then I read Dijinni Spin

Dijinni Spin

Quote:


Creatures adjacent to you take your unarmed
strike damage plus the electricity damage from your
Elemental Fist and are deafened for 1d4 rounds. A successful
Fortitude save (DC 10 + 1/2 your character level + your Wis
modifier) reduces the damage by half and prevents a target
from being deafened.

Now it says a creature takes damage, but on a successful save reduces the damage to half and the target is not deafened.

Am I just reading this wrong? It sounds like one or both of these is messed up.


They're two different effects.

Djinni spin lets you spend two elemental fist uses and hit adjacent enemies with unarmed strike + elemental fist damage + deafen with a chance to save for half damage and no deafen.

Djinni spirit makes anyone who takes electricity damage from your elemental fist attack save or be deafened. If they take electricity damage because you used your djinni spin on them, the save they make for djinni spin doesn't prevent the deafen effect.


But since Djinni Spirit is a prerequisite of Djinni Spin doesn't that mean that the part where Djinni Spin allows a save to avoid being deafened never comes up?


Yeah, it sounds like you just said two contradictory things.

So, for example, I'm a monk with the Djinni Spin feat (and therefore the Djinni spirit feat, which is a prerequisite).

I use Djinnis spin. The target makes a saving throw and succeeds, therefore they take half damage from the unarmed strike + elemental fist damage.

So, are they deafened, or aren't they?

Djinni spirit says that if they took damage from Djinni Spin, they're deafened, but Djinni Spin says that if they make the save, they're not deafened.


Djinni spirit applies to attacks made using elemental fist. Djinni spin is not an attack made using elemental fist, therefore you use the text from djinni spin and not djinni spirit to determine the effects of the save. So someone who makes the save would not be deafened.


willuwontu wrote:
Djinni spirit applies to attacks made using elemental fist. Djinni spin is not an attack made using elemental fist, therefore you use the text from djinni spin and not djinni spirit to determine the effects of the save. So someone who makes the save would not be deafened.

I think this is incorrect. Djinni Spirit says "Creatures that take electricity damage from your Elemental Fist attack", while Djinni Spin says "plus the electricity damage from your Elemental Fist".

Which means that Djinni Spin DOES use your Elemental Fist damage, meaning Djinni Spirit DOES apply.

The way my friend and I interpret it is as such: Since feats can be gotten without the prerequisites at times, Djinni Spin gives a save against the deafened condition if you DON'T have Djinni Spirit. If you DO have Djinni Spirit, then it modifies that last line of Djinni Spin so they don't get the save against getting deafened.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Djinni Spin, Djinni Spirit Deafen confusion All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.