Draconic Bloodline Bite


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

With dragon disciple, you get a bite that specifically does str 1+1/2 damage. Does this override the general rule of natural weapons, aka, if you attack with a sword, then dragon disciple bite, is it still 1+1/2, or is it 1/2? It'd be -5 to hit either way, as nothing speaks otherwise.


Quote:
Creatures with natural attacks and attacks made with weapons can use both as part of a full attack action (although often a creature must forgo one natural attack for each weapon clutched in that limb, be it a claw, tentacle, or slam). Such creatures attack with their weapons normally but treat all of their available natural attacks as secondary attacks during that attack, regardless of the attack's original type.
Quote:
Secondary attacks are made using the creature's base attack bonus –5 and add only 1/2 the creature's Strength bonus on damage rolls.
Quote:
Some creatures treat one or more of their attacks differently, such as dragons, which always receive 1-1/2 times their Strength bonus on damage rolls with their bite attack. These exceptions are noted in the creature's description.

Reading that together, I believe you would treat the bite just like any other natural attack. If you attack with a weapon and the bite, the bite is a secondary attack for that round (so 1/2 STR bonus only and -5 to hit). That's how the stat entries for creatures that have similar set-ups work (Babau, for instance). Could be wrong, though.


The bite would have a -5 (but from your full BAB attack) but I'm less clear about the STR bonus that would apply - Dragons are somewhat exceptions here. The babau's attack is a bite with just +STR not +STR & 1/2.

It also isn't entirely clear what bonus from power attack would apply - I think the 50% boost from power attacks with a two handed weapon or a natural attack that does STR + 1/2 but I need to double check the wording of power attack again.

This actually just happened for my PFS dragon disciple so I want to make sure I'm running him correctly. In the specific case I don't think a small math error would have made a difference (he hit by more than +5 and did a lot of damage)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Draconic Bloodline Bite All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.