Water Elemental on a Ship / Water Mastery yes or no?


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Quote:

Water Mastery (Ex)

A water elemental gains a +1 bonus on attack and damage rolls if both it and its opponent are touching water. If the opponent or the elemental is touching the ground, the elemental takes a –4 penalty on attack and damage rolls. These modifiers apply to bull rush and overrun maneuvers, whether the elemental is initiating or resisting these kinds of attacks.

What is meant with ground? English is a foreign language for me, so does the developers mean earth?

Does the water elemental take the penalty on a ship?

Grand Lodge

This is an interesting question that I've seen argued in different ways. A common definition of "the ground" is the surface of the Earth, or of Golarion. This leaves a lot of questions open. Others have said it means any solid surface in this context.

The water elemental would not get a bonus. I wouldn't give it a penalty either.


Air, earth, and water elementals all get a mastery. Water is in water, and not touching ground. Earth is while touching ground and not airborne/water. I would agree that a ship counts as neither ground or water, and so no bonus/penalty would apply.


Thanks. I would rule so also.

In this special situation the -4 makes the difference between hit and down a pc into -1 negatives or a miss. Its a online game and I am the GM so I want to make sure that I don´t rule unfair.

More opinions are apprecitated.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Water Elemental on a Ship / Water Mastery yes or no? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.