Gunslinger Distance pistol + Deadeye deed?

Rules Questions

If a Gunslinger has a pistol (20ft range) with the Distance enchantment (doubles the weapon's range), and he uses the Deadeye deed, does he spend only 1 point if the target is within 80ft, or does it have to be within 60ft?

Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Distance: "A distance weapon has double the range increment of other weapons of its kind." (emphasis mine)

Deadeye: "At 1st level, the gunslinger can resolve an attack against touch AC instead of normal AC when firing beyond her firearm's first range increment. Performing this deed costs 1 grit point per range increment beyond the first. The gunslinger still takes the –2 penalty on attack rolls for each range increment beyond the first when she performs this deed." (emphasis mine)

Distance doubles the range increment of the pistol from 20 ft to 40 ft. The deadeye deed uses the 40 ft range increment for that pistol when used.

This is why distance is pretty much a "must have" on firearms.

Still a bit unclear. Deadeye costs 1 grit per range increment beyond the first. So, with the Distance enchantment making the range 40ft., does that mean "the first range increment beyond the first" is 60ft or 80ft?

80', a weapon with the distance enchant has a range increment twice the range increment of a normal weapon.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Gunslinger Distance pistol + Deadeye deed? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions