Seven obscure rules I disagreed with my table on. Please help answer.


Pathfinder Society

1 to 50 of 112 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>
Silver Crusade

During my last Pathfinder Society Organized Play event I had some disagreements on some of the rules with my GM and Fellow Players. I always abide by the GMs ruling but as I plan to GM some mods for my local Society I want to get clarification on the rules.

Assuming they have the books is O-Yori Armor (Ultimate Equipment pg9&13) always available, so it can be bought even with 5 Fame?
What special materials can be used to make O-yori?

Can a Paladin from Tian Xia be loyal to a particular lawful noble house similar to a samurai instead of a god? Can you be a godless paladin in Society Play?

If a player is moving on difficult terrain does moving INTO a threatened square provoke an attack of opportunity? It costs two squares of movement.

If you are unconscious and you fall under water do you automatically hold your breath?

Can Spellcraft or Knowledge Arcane (with Detect Magic) be used to identify the spell on a trapped door?

Can a Familiar with Scent use the casters Knowledge Skill to identify a monster by scent if the caster cannot see the monster?

Thank you.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

The only one I feel comfortable answering (not knowing a great deal about PFS play), is that moving into a square does not provoke Attacks of Opportunity, regardless of how much movement is used: it is the act of leaving a square which provokes, so unless the square being left is threatened, then it doesn't provoke. Importantly, since it isn't possible to 5-foot step on difficult terrain, if you leave a threatened square into a square which is difficult terrain, even if you only move 5 feet, you provoke because you use more than 5-feet of movement to do so.


Wait, really? I thought 5ft step worked regardless of difficult terrain.

5/5

1 person marked this as a favorite.

1) O-Yori armor reads as metal plates as the basis, so it could use any legal metal as a base.
2) As a mundane item, it would be always available in PFS.
3) A paladin MUST worship, and receive their abilities from, a god in PFS. This is a PFS house rule, and is stated in the Guide to Organized Play.
4) Chemlak answered.
5) I thought you started drowning if you fell under water unconscious.
5) Not sure, read the skills again.
6) No. A familiar has it's own skill ranks to use.

Sorry for brevity working from a tablet.


mcherm wrote:
Wait, really? I thought 5ft step worked regardless of difficult terrain.
PFSRD wrote:
You can only take a 5-foot-step if your movement isn't hampered by difficult terrain or darkness.


mcherm wrote:
Wait, really? I thought 5ft step worked regardless of difficult terrain.
Quote:
You can only take a 5-foot-step if your movement isn't hampered by difficult terrain or darkness. Any creature with a speed of 5 feet or less can't take a 5-foot step, since moving even 5 feet requires a move action for such a slow creature.

AS for unconscious creatures and drowning:

Quote:
Unconscious characters must begin making Constitution checks immediately upon being submerged (or upon becoming unconscious if the character was conscious when submerged). Once she fails one of these checks, she immediately drops to –1 (or loses 1 additional hit point, if her total is below –1). On the following round, she drowns.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Yep.

Taking a 5-foot step wrote:
You can only take a 5-foot-step if your movement isn't hampered by difficult terrain or darkness. Any creature with a speed of 5 feet or less can't take a 5-foot step, since moving even 5 feet requires a move action for such a slow creature.

Edit: Damn ninjas!

Liberty's Edge 4/5

1) dont know, will have to look it up in the guide and additional resource.
2) no, all divine casters must worship a diety.
3) as CHemlak said
4) if unconscious, than will drown in 3 rounds.
5) think so, but others may disagree
6) interesting thought, further thought required.

7) some of this can be found in the free guide or additional resource link on the PFS page.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Drowning wrote:
Unconscious characters must begin making Constitution checks immediately upon being submerged (or upon becoming unconscious if the character was conscious when submerged). Once she fails one of these checks, she immediately drops to –1 (or loses 1 additional hit point, if her total is below –1). On the following round, she drowns.

Damn tablet is a bit slow going to answer some of these, just noticed the Jeraa beat me to this one.


1) Most of protective pieces on the O-Yori armor are metal plate. So I am going to say that it can be made Mithral, Adamantine, or any other material that requires the object to be made of metal.

2)No. Paladins must have a god.

3)No. Only leaving a threatened square provokes an AoO.

4)No. If you are unconscious and fall into water you begin making DC 10 Con checks. If you fail that check you DIE next round.

5)Yes as long as the trap is a spell.

6)YMMV. I would say yes because a familiar has it's masters skill ranks and the scent ability allows you to identify creatures by familiar smells in the same way humanoids identify creatures by sight.


TimrehIX wrote:

Assuming they have the books is O-Yori Armor (Ultimate Equipment pg9&13) always available, so it can be bought even with 5 Fame?

What special materials can be used to make O-yori?

I don't know the Fame rules for PFS. I do know that O-yori can be made from the same materials that full plate is, as it is metal.

TimrehIX wrote:
Can a Paladin from Tian Xia be loyal to a particular lawful noble house similar to a samurai instead of a god? Can you be a godless paladin in Society Play?

While I don't know (or care) much about PFS, one thing I've picked up from the boards is that Paladins must follow a deity in PFS.

TimrehIX wrote:
If a player is moving on difficult terrain does moving INTO a threatened square provoke an attack of opportunity? It costs two squares of movement.

Yes, you would provoke. You cannot 5' step into difficult terrain. Edit: Assuming you were threatened before, that is. Entering a space never provokes, leaving one does. So, my answer is that you can't 5' step into difficult terrain, but if the question was about the second square of movement provoking in the same space or something, then no, that's not true.

TimrehIX wrote:
If you are unconscious and you fall under water do you automatically hold your breath?

No. How could you? That doesn't even make sense.

TimrehIX wrote:
Can Spellcraft or Knowledge Arcane (with Detect Magic) be used to identify the spell on a trapped door?

Spellcraft yes, Knowledge: Arcana no.

TimrehIX wrote:
Can a Familiar with Scent use the casters Knowledge Skill to identify a monster by scent if the caster cannot see the monster?

I would say yes, but that's my judgment as a GM. There's no official rule for this so it will vary by table.


Adventure Path Charter Subscriber
Lab_Rat wrote:


6)YMMV. I would say yes because a familiar has it's masters skill ranks and the scent ability allows you to identify creatures by familiar smells in the same way humanoids identify creatures by sight.

I would say definitely yes. But though the familiar may have his master's ranks, he only has his own intelligence to calculate the skill modifier. Then there's the question of how well he can communicate what he figures out to anybody else... ravens are easy, most others a little more challenging.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber
TimrehIX wrote:

Assuming they have the books is O-Yori Armor (Ultimate Equipment pg9&13) always available, so it can be bought even with 5 Fame?

If you're in Absalom or Goka, I would say yes. If you're planning on shopping for samurai armor in a remote hamlet in the Mwangi Expanse, I would understand if the GM vetoed the purchase, no matter how much Fame you have.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber
TimrehIX wrote:

If a player is moving on difficult terrain does moving INTO a threatened square provoke an attack of opportunity? It costs two squares of movement.

There are no such things as 5 foot adjustments in difficult terrain. Certain feats and class abilities however may negate a particular difficuty.

5/5

LazarX wrote:
TimrehIX wrote:

Assuming they have the books is O-Yori Armor (Ultimate Equipment pg9&13) always available, so it can be bought even with 5 Fame?

If you're in Absalom or Goka, I would say yes. If you're planning on shopping for samurai armor in a remote hamlet in the Mwangi Expanse, I would understand if the GM vetoed the purchase, no matter how much Fame you have.

In PFS, any town/city of 5,000 or more inhabitants are considered to have all items/services available to a character available to purchase.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber

Paladins are not required to follow a specific deity. The Paladin class is assumed to follow all gods of goodness and purity. There is a specific Archtype for the Paladin class that states this because the archtype allows that type of Paladin (Sacred Servants) to follow ONE specific God that is either NG, LG, or LN. (Sacred Servants get access to Domain spells due as a result and bond with their holy symbol.)

In theory it should be allowed for Paladins (much as clerics) to "worship" an Aspect. For instance, they may follow Guardianship, in which they would follow the precepts of protecting people and kingdoms so long as they are good and lawful in nature. But that would be dependent on the GM.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
mplindustries wrote:
TimrehIX wrote:
If you are unconscious and you fall under water do you automatically hold your breath?

No. How could you? That doesn't even make sense.

From Wikipedia under drowning: "Upon water entering the airways, both conscious and unconscious victims experience laryngospasm, that is the larynx or the vocal cords in the throat constrict and seal the air tube. This prevents water from entering the lungs."

Saying it makes no sense it going overboard. I think there can be a discussion about this. Perhaps you can hold your breath in this way while unconscious.

Grand Lodge

All divine casters are required to have a deity in Golarion, and in PFS (as this is set in Golarion). References to not having a deity (e.g. clerics following a philosophy) do not apply to the Golarion setting. There are whole threads about this on the board.

Sovereign Court 4/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Netherlands—Leiden aka Ascalaphus

A familiar has the same skill ranks as his master, so if the master had the right Knowledges, I'd say that the familiar could indeed try to identify scents, even if his master doesn't have Scent; the familiar has ranks in Knowledge (type X), not Knowledge (stuff my master knows about type X).

5/5

Tangent101 wrote:

Paladins are not required to follow a specific deity. The Paladin class is assumed to follow all gods of goodness and purity. There is a specific Archtype for the Paladin class that states this because the archtype allows that type of Paladin (Sacred Servants) to follow ONE specific God that is either NG, LG, or LN. (Sacred Servants get access to Domain spells due as a result and bond with their holy symbol.)

In theory it should be allowed for Paladins (much as clerics) to "worship" an Aspect. For instance, they may follow Guardianship, in which they would follow the precepts of protecting people and kingdoms so long as they are good and lawful in nature. But that would be dependent on the GM.

Again, this is a PFS specific rule requiring a paladin to worship a deity for their powers. In the general rules, this not the case. However, the OP asked in relation to PFS.


I don't know if PFS has a specific rule for paladins and them worshiping a deity (but i believe what Sniggevert is saying) but in Golarion paladins may have their powers without a patron deity, clerics can not do so.


Oracles don't require a diety in society play. Just clarifying that point.

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.
TimrehIX wrote:
Can Spellcraft or Knowledge Arcane (with Detect Magic) be used to identify the spell on a trapped door?

Detect Magic identifies the strength and school of the spell.

Knowledge Arcana identifies a spell effect that is in place (see page 101 table 4-6 second line).

The most relevant spellcraft effect is that it identifies the properties of a magic item using detect magic.

Under traps: "Magic device traps initiate spell effects when activated, just as wands, rods, rings, and other magic items do. Creating a magic device trap requires the Craft Wondrous Item feat."

I would rule that magical traps are like magic items and you therefore use spellcraft. I can easily see why some might rule Knowledge Arcana.

Silver Crusade

I can not find where in Guide to Organized play it says Paladins need to worship a god. Can anyone give me the page number?


Page 10, under religion.

Silver Crusade 2/5

PFSGtOP wrote:


Religion: Characters can elect to worship any deity listed in a table of gods in the Core Rulebook, The Inner
Sea World Guide, Pathfinder Campaign Setting: Gods and Magic, or any other source listed as an official Additional Resource. Characters may elect to worship an evil god, but must always be within one alignment step of their chosen deity. For clerics, this is an especially important choice, since the deity’s alignment determines whether the cleric channels positive or negative energy, a decision with significant tactical implications for the cleric and her allies. Characters who do not receive powers from a divine source may choose to be atheists or to have no deity at all.

I believe this is the relevant section.


GUIDE TO PATHFINDER SOCIETY ORGANIZED PLAY wrote:
Clerics, inquisitors, paladins, cavaliers of the order of the star,and samurai of the order of the star must choose a deity as all classes in Golarion that receive spells and abilities from a specific divine source receive their powers from a deity. Druids, oracles, and rangers are the exception to this rule. The list is not exhaustive, and divine spellcasters of any future classes whose sources are added as additional resources to the Pathfinder Society Organized Play campaign will be required to choose a deity unless otherwise specified. Otherwise, characters who do not receive powers from a divine source may choose to be atheists or to have no deity at all.

Thats the relavent section. I downloaded the 4.3 version just to look it up.

Silver Crusade 2/5

Yep, mine was still v. 1.2.


Solusek wrote:
mplindustries wrote:
TimrehIX wrote:
If you are unconscious and you fall under water do you automatically hold your breath?

No. How could you? That doesn't even make sense.

From Wikipedia under drowning: "Upon water entering the airways, both conscious and unconscious victims experience laryngospasm, that is the larynx or the vocal cords in the throat constrict and seal the air tube. This prevents water from entering the lungs."

Saying it makes no sense it going overboard. I think there can be a discussion about this. Perhaps you can hold your breath in this way while unconscious.

Scarcely matters ... you are going to die fairly rapidly (unless you regain consciousness or are otherwise rescued) as either you A) suffocate from not ventilating properly as the spasm prevents not only water but air/oxygen from entering as well or B) the laryngospasm subsides and water then enters your lungs. In any case laryngospasm is not a conscious response, you aren't 'holding your breath' in any typical meaning of the phrase (which would refer to voluntarily stopping the movement of the muscles used to move air into and out of your lungs).


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Stop bringing real life into my tabletop! We don't need to know the ins and outs of ideomoter responses, we just need to know that you make a DC10 Con check or die.


3 people marked this as a favorite.

What gets wierd is when a character keeps making those Con checks.

"Is... is he sleeping in there?"

"Yeah, he says its very soothing."

-j

Dark Archive

You must be glad Jason that the constitution checks increase in difficulty by 1 each round!

Yeah, I've drowned a player before. That's one of the least heroic deaths I can think of.

Liberty's Edge 5/5

Lab_Rat wrote:


3)No. Only leaving a threatened square provokes an AoO.

This is true, but as others have pointed out, the act of moving into difficult terrain cannot be a 5' step. Because it cannot be a 5' step, leaving the square you started in would provoke the AoO.

Liberty's Edge 5/5

mplindustries wrote:


TimrehIX wrote:
Can Spellcraft or Knowledge Arcane (with Detect Magic) be used to identify the spell on a trapped door?

Spellcraft yes, Knowledge: Arcana no.

This is actually an incorrect answer.

Spellcraft allows you to identify a magic item's powers.

Knowledge (arcana) allows you to identify an existing spell effect.

So for a magical trap, it would have to be determined if it is a spell in effect, or a magical item before you determine which skill is required to identify it.

5/5 ⦵⦵⦵

Quote:
Assuming they have the books is O-Yori Armor (Ultimate Equipment pg9&13) always available, so it can be bought even with 5 Fame?

Yes. There's no difference in pfs between eastern and western armors. The inner sea region has been chatting it up with the east for about a thousand years now, so there's nothing special about the armor.

Quote:
What special materials can be used to make O-yori?

both plate and lamellar elements

The centerpiece of o-yoroi is a cuirass consisting of two parts—a separate reinforcement for the right side called a waidate, and a kikko cuirass

Wiki-A cuirass is a piece of armour, formed of a single or multiple pieces of metal or other rigid material, which covers the front of the torso.

The upper part of the waidate consists of a leather-covered iron plate

watagami—are likewise armored with metal plates

lacquered iron greaves

I think its pretty safe to say that its a metal armor. So that means adamantite, mithril, and the obscure stuff.

Quote:
Can a Paladin from Tian Xia be loyal to a particular lawful noble house similar to a samurai instead of a god? Can you be a godless paladin in Society Play?

No. PfS paladins need a deity.

Quote:
If a player is moving on difficult terrain does moving INTO a threatened square provoke an attack of opportunity? It costs two squares of movement.

No. He's not moving into the square and then moving into the square again, he's just moving into the square once and its costing extra movement.

Quote:
Can Spellcraft or Knowledge Arcane (with Detect Magic) be used to identify the spell on a trapped door?

Yes. Spamable detect magic in pathfinder has made magical traps come with their own neon light.

Quote:
Can a Familiar with Scent use the casters Knowledge Skill to identify a monster by scent if the caster cannot see the monster?

DMs call- but at the very least the familiar can use the masters ranks in knowledge: whateveridsthemonster to make its own check because scents are just as distinguishable as sights to something with scent and familiars have their masters skill ranks.

Liberty's Edge 5/5

LazarX wrote:
TimrehIX wrote:

Assuming they have the books is O-Yori Armor (Ultimate Equipment pg9&13) always available, so it can be bought even with 5 Fame?

If you're in Absalom or Goka, I would say yes. If you're planning on shopping for samurai armor in a remote hamlet in the Mwangi Expanse, I would understand if the GM vetoed the purchase, no matter how much Fame you have.

If the item is always available, and you are in a town of 5,000 or more, you can always buy it. In PFS, the GM cannot disallow it unless something in the scenario says otherwise.

In smaller towns, YMMV and Table Variation will likely apply.

But since almost all scenarios start in a town of 5,000 or more, a GM should never be disallowing it (unless of course a scenario says otherwise).

Liberty's Edge 5/5

Tangent101 wrote:

Paladins are not required to follow a specific deity. The Paladin class is assumed to follow all gods of goodness and purity. There is a specific Archtype for the Paladin class that states this because the archtype allows that type of Paladin (Sacred Servants) to follow ONE specific God that is either NG, LG, or LN. (Sacred Servants get access to Domain spells due as a result and bond with their holy symbol.)

In theory it should be allowed for Paladins (much as clerics) to "worship" an Aspect. For instance, they may follow Guardianship, in which they would follow the precepts of protecting people and kingdoms so long as they are good and lawful in nature. But that would be dependent on the GM.

In PFS this is incorrect. In PFS, you must choose a deity as a Paladin.

Liberty's Edge 5/5

Solusek wrote:
mplindustries wrote:
TimrehIX wrote:
If you are unconscious and you fall under water do you automatically hold your breath?

No. How could you? That doesn't even make sense.

From Wikipedia under drowning: "Upon water entering the airways, both conscious and unconscious victims experience laryngospasm, that is the larynx or the vocal cords in the throat constrict and seal the air tube. This prevents water from entering the lungs."

Saying it makes no sense it going overboard. I think there can be a discussion about this. Perhaps you can hold your breath in this way while unconscious.

Perhaps, but it isn't how the rules work.

Liberty's Edge 5/5

BigNorseWolf wrote:
Quote:
If a player is moving on difficult terrain does moving INTO a threatened square provoke an attack of opportunity? It costs two squares of movement.

No. He's not moving into the square and then moving into the square again, he's just moving into the square once and its costing extra movement.

Again, this is incorrect.

If you move more than 5', you provoke an AoO as long as the square you are leaving is threatened.

So even if the grid only shows it as a 5' step, if it is difficult terrain, or it is dark, it is considered movement, not a 5' step.

Because it is movement, and not a 5' step, the origination square you leave would provoke an AoO as long as it is threatened.

5/5 ⦵⦵⦵

Andrew Christian wrote:
Again, this is incorrect. If you move more than 5', you provoke an AoO as long as the square you are leaving is threatened.

He asked about a square being moved INTO. Not out of.

Dark Archive

Andrew Christian wrote:
mplindustries wrote:


TimrehIX wrote:
Can Spellcraft or Knowledge Arcane (with Detect Magic) be used to identify the spell on a trapped door?

Spellcraft yes, Knowledge: Arcana no.

This is actually an incorrect answer.

Spellcraft allows you to identify a magic item's powers.

Knowledge (arcana) allows you to identify an existing spell effect.

So for a magical trap, it would have to be determined if it is a spell in effect, or a magical item before you determine which skill is required to identify it.

As I pointed out upthread PRD says: "Magic device traps initiate spell effects when activated, just as wands, rods, rings, and other magic items do. Creating a magic device trap requires the Craft Wondrous Item feat."

It works like a magical item, therefore Spellcraft is the skill you would typically use to identify the magical trap spell.

Liberty's Edge

Andrew Christian wrote:
BigNorseWolf wrote:
Quote:
If a player is moving on difficult terrain does moving INTO a threatened square provoke an attack of opportunity? It costs two squares of movement.

No. He's not moving into the square and then moving into the square again, he's just moving into the square once and its costing extra movement.

Again, this is incorrect.

If you move more than 5', you provoke an AoO as long as the square you are leaving is threatened.

So even if the grid only shows it as a 5' step, if it is difficult terrain, or it is dark, it is considered movement, not a 5' step.

Because it is movement, and not a 5' step, the origination square you leave would provoke an AoO as long as it is threatened.

Andrew, you need to go back and reread the OP's post. The OP makes no mention of the status of the square being moved out of. They are asking purely if moving INTO a threatened square that happens to be difficult terrain provokes. The correct answer is that the state of the square, being moved into, has no bearing on the question of provoking. Only the state of the square be exited.

EDIT: In rereading this, I think I may come off as a bit of an jerk. Sorry, not my intent.

5/5

ZomB wrote:

As I pointed out upthread PRD says: "Magic device traps initiate spell effects when activated, just as wands, rods, rings, and other magic items do. Creating a magic device trap requires the Craft Wondrous Item feat."

It works like a magical item, therefore Spellcraft is the skill you would typically use to identify the magical trap spell.

Actually I think you are all wrong.

Knowledge: Arcana does not allow you to identify existing spell effects. It allows identification of "ancient mysteries, traditions, symbols, constructs, dragons and magical beasts", no specific mention of spells.

Spellcraft only allows for the identification of spells as they are being cast or of magical item properties. Some magical traps will be magical items created by CWI but if someone just sticks a Glyph or Alarm spell or some such on a door they aren't.

Detect Magic will get you the presence of a spell and its strength after 3 rounds of concentration. Detect Magic does not give you the school without a Knowledge: Arcana check.

It actually takes Greater Arcane Sight, a level 7 spell, to identify exactly what spells are in effect.


You would need all three, to do what you wanted

you would use knowledge arcana and detect magic to see the magical aura on the trap door,
then to know the exact type of spell cast on the trap, you would then need spell craft to identify the specific magical properties of the magic aura, you detected with your detect magic and arcana skill.

5/5 RPG Superstar 2008 Top 16 aka Sir_Wulf

Attacks of opportunity are based on the square you leave, not the square you enter. Entering a threatened square does not normally draw an Attack of Opportunity, no matter what the terrain may be. That said, you cannot normally use a 5-foot move to enter a square with difficult terrain.

If someone wants to move from a threatened square into one with difficult terrain without getting hit, he can:
* Use a Withdrawal action to exit the original square
* Use Acrobatics to tumble clear (with a possible penalty for the terrain)
* Use the Full Defense action to bump his AC by 4 and hope his foe misses (He could also "Fight Defensively", taking a -4 for a smaller AC bump)
* Some GMs may allow you to attempt a sort of Feint maneuver to "draw your opponent off position" while you fall back. This isn't RAW, but would fall under GM discretion for unusual maneuvers.

5/5 RPG Superstar 2008 Top 16 aka Sir_Wulf

TimrehIX wrote:
Can Spellcraft or Knowledge Arcane (with Detect Magic) be used to identify the spell on a trapped door?

The caster can determine its school and approximate level (1-3, 4-6,7-9, 10+). A rogue with Trapfinding might gain different information from a successful Perception check ("Hmmm. Another glyph of warding. Pass me some chalk from my backpack: I think I can disarm it.")

TimrehIX wrote:
Can a Familiar with Scent use the caster's Knowledge Skill to identify a monster by scent if the caster cannot see the monster?

Yes, but the GM would be within his rights to impose a circumstance penalty on the attempt. ("Familiar, is it more a musky stench or a sharp, chemical stench?")

Liberty's Edge

andreww wrote:


It actually takes Greater Arcane Sight, a level 7 spell, to identify exactly what spells are in effect.

Please read the table in the "Knowledge" skill either in the PRD or the Core Rulebook. It lists several of the uses of Knowledge (Arcana) as being to: 1) "Identify a spell effect that is in place"; to 2) "Identify a spell that just targeted you"; or to 3) "Identify the spells cast using a specific material component."

5/5

Tristan Windseeker wrote:
andreww wrote:


It actually takes Greater Arcane Sight, a level 7 spell, to identify exactly what spells are in effect.
Please read the table in the "Knowledge" skill either in the PRD or the Core Rulebook. It lists several of the uses of Knowledge (Arcana) as being to: 1) "Identify a spell effect that is in place"; to 2) "Identify a spell that just targeted you"; or to 3) "Identify the spells cast using a specific material component."

By the way, since it came up, my players told me the other day that even if you fail this check and have no clue what a certain spell is that is in place or is targeting you, if anyone casts the same thing again, they're entitled to a reroll. They also claimed that if it's on their spell list, they automatically know all the parameters of a particular spell. I accepted it at the time skeptically to speed things up but can't find it anywhere. Am I being silly and just glossing past it. Have you seen that rule?


If someone cast it again your rolling against a different spell. Not too keen on the other point, but if its from your wizard school you get a +2 to know and if an opposition school you get a -5. Makes sense for you to recognize your own spell... but I don't see it in the spellcraft description.

5/5

MrSin wrote:
If someone cast it again your rolling against a different spell. Not too keen on the other point, but if its from your wizard school you get a +2 to know and if an opposition school you get a -5. Makes sense for you to recognize your own spell... but I don't see it in the spellcraft description.

Is it really a different spell? Like if an enemy casts prismatic wall and the wizard says "I want to know which seven spells I need to bust up that wall" and rolls and fails, does that really mean that if the enemy casts it again in the same fight, they can roll again?

1 to 50 of 112 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Seven obscure rules I disagreed with my table on. Please help answer. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.