Prehensile Tail small objects


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

What qualifies as a "small" item to be retrieved by a prehensile tail?

Shortsword (light melee, 2 lbs.)?
Longsword (One-handed, 4 lbs.)?

Thanks


It's not really well covered by Pathfinder rules, since weapons are classified by the size of their intended user (a dagger for an ogre might be a large light weapon, for example), but in 3e weapons had a designated size that determined what type of weapon they were for an individual user. Small weapons were light weapons for medium users, medium weapons were one handed weapons for medium users, and large weapons were two handed weapons for medium users.

You could do something similar for Prehensile Tail; a weapon considered light for the user could be retrieved with it. Other stuff requires some discretion though, since most items don't have size categories quite as clearly defined. A potion or oil is probably fair game though.

The Exchange

I think the intention behind Prehensile tail wasn't to weild or hold weapons for easy interchanging but more for holding potions for fighters or wands for wizards to easily grab. I'd say that a light weapon within reason could be held by the tail.

Grand Lodge

So a medium sized character with a prehensil tail would be able to retrieve a light weapon.

That was my initial understanding as well.
According to this ruling, a light weapon (i.e. shortsword) would be allowed, but not a one-handed (i.e. longsword).

Thank you.

I am looking forward to hearing from other players, to concur, before bringing this to my next Pathfinder Society game.

Grand Lodge

Yes Codanous.
And I am not thinking about wielding or holding weapons, but to retrieve them.

Grand Lodge

Any other opinions out there?
Thanks


I'd interpret "small" as "light and without cumbersome dimensions." So anything that doesn't have a listed weight.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hmmm....

First, understand that with the rules not being very explicit on what items you can grab with your tail, it's up to GM discretion and you'll therefore get table variation in PFS as you go from GM to GM. Be ready to accept and work around that.

As for myself as a GM, I probably wouldn't allow a shortsword to be retrieved with the Prehensile Tail racial trait. I'd probably allow all of the following:
• Potions/oils
• Scrolls
• Wands
• Daggers
• Maybe rods?
• Small/light consumable wondrous items (necklace of fireballs, snapleaf, probably an elixir of fire breath, etc)
• Alchemist's fire (or comparable items, like acid flasks)
And so forth. But to me, a short sword seems a bit big for the tail ability.

But again, it will vary from GM to GM.


just for the record jiggy, a rod (5 lbs)is heavier than a short sword (2 lbs)

i had a venture captain decide it could only be done with one handed weapons, because of a friend was trying to use the rule that you can switch weapons in the middle of a full attack action. he would attack with a greatsword, use his tail to grab it as a swift action, then use his 2 claw attacks (he was a tiefling). the next turn he would attack with 2 claws then swift action the sword back and swing with it.

the VC told him a greatsword was too heavy, so he just started using a bastard sword 2 handed instead.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

I didn't bother to look up rod stats. ;)

As for the sword/claw thing, the issue there isn't so much the size of the item, but the fact that you can't make both a natural attack and weapon attack with the same limb in the same round. If you attack with a bastard sword in two hands (and only have two arms), you've forfeited your chance to use those hands for claw attacks. Additionally, if you did make natural attacks and weapon attacks in the same round (like sword + bite or whatever), the natural attacks automatically become secondary, taking -5 to hit and only getting half your STR mod to damage.


That switch trick doesn‘t work anyway, because you can‘t use natural weapons at all if you already used the limb they're attached to for regular weapon attacks.


Jiggy wrote:

I didn't bother to look up rod stats. ;)

As for the sword/claw thing, the issue there isn't so much the size of the item, but the fact that you can't make both a natural attack and weapon attack with the same limb in the same round. If you attack with a bastard sword in two hands (and only have two arms), you've forfeited your chance to use those hands for claw attacks. Additionally, if you did make natural attacks and weapon attacks in the same round (like sword + bite or whatever), the natural attacks automatically become secondary, taking -5 to hit and only getting half your STR mod to damage.

where is that rule? i thought it was cheesy (he was taking -5 on claws though) but i couldn't find where it would be disallowed.

my tieflings take a bite attack anyway

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Prehensile Tail small objects All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.