Spell Sponge feat and allowed spells


Rules Questions


3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Spell Sponge is from the new Animal Archive, it's a feat your familiar can take.

Quote:
Whenever your master targets you with a harmless spell with a target of “you,” the spell's duration is doubled as if modified by the Extend Spell metamagic feat. This does not affect spells with a duration of concentration, instantaneous, or permanent, or spells already modified by Extend Spell.

When it says harmless spell, does that mean a spell that actually says "harmless" in the saving throw or spell resistance line? Or does it mean any spell that's not harmful?

The only spells I can find that only have "You" in the target and also actually say "harmless" are Animal Aspect and Greater Animal Aspect.

There's a handful more spells that actually say "harmless" and have "You" in the target line, but it's target "you and 1 ally" or "you or creature touched" and so on. (Freedom of Movement, Invisibility, Greater Invisibility, Wind Walk, Find the Path, Hidden Speech, Tireless Pursuers, Battlemind Link, Sharesister) Do these spells work with the feat?

Sovereign Court

Anything that has a target of you should be fine. Harmless in this instance seems to not be focusing on the harmless line in the saving throws.

I think Personal spells would also be included. It looks like that is worded a little oddly which can happen.


Sooo.... I don't have the Animal Archive yet, but I didn't think familiars got feats. How does that work?


I would be surprised if they used a defined keyword and didn't actually mean it. But at the same time, they didn't phrase it as how abilities like that are normally phrased.

Sovereign Court

Yeah, that's exactly the issue with the wording.

They can replace feats they have with the feats in the book Gavvin.


Morgen wrote:
They can replace feats they have with the feats in the book Gavvin.

More specifically, when a caster (or whomever) acquires the familiar, they can make a choice to drop any of the creature's natural feats and replace them with applicable feats. This (edit: added) is a one time choice, per familiar and (edit: end) may or may not be a good idea.

Also, one of the Familiar Archetypes allows a character to give a feat to their familiar, rather than take it themselves. This is probably a bad idea, unless it is a great feat and the feat is one the character can't take.

The only 'real' way to give feats to a Familiar is to have a Homunculus familiar, and give it more Hit Dice (at 2k gp per Hit Die; I'm not sure if you can do this after the construct is made or not). It would get real skill points and feats as it gets real hit dice (as opposed to the effective hit dice it has as a familiar).

(I guess this might be possible with any Constructed familiar; clockwork familiars, for example.)

Developer

6 people marked this as a favorite.
Steg wrote:

Spell Sponge is from the new Animal Archive, it's a feat your familiar can take.

Quote:
Whenever your master targets you with a harmless spell with a target of “you,” the spell's duration is doubled as if modified by the Extend Spell metamagic feat. This does not affect spells with a duration of concentration, instantaneous, or permanent, or spells already modified by Extend Spell.

When it says harmless spell, does that mean a spell that actually says "harmless" in the saving throw or spell resistance line? Or does it mean any spell that's not harmful?

The only spells I can find that only have "You" in the target and also actually say "harmless" are Animal Aspect and Greater Animal Aspect.

There's a handful more spells that actually say "harmless" and have "You" in the target line, but it's target "you and 1 ally" or "you or creature touched" and so on. (Freedom of Movement, Invisibility, Greater Invisibility, Wind Walk, Find the Path, Hidden Speech, Tireless Pursuers, Battlemind Link, Sharesister) Do these spells work with the feat?

The use of "harmless" in this instance was an unnecessary complication, since as you pointed out, there are only a couple spells that have a target of "You" and are explicitly stated as harmless. Ignore the word "harmless" so that the sentence reads: "Whenever your master targets you with a spell with a target of 'you,' the spell's duration...."

This feat plays off the share spells ability possessed by most animal companions and familiars, so it should be applicable with any spell cast upon the animal companion or familiar that can only be cast on that creature because of the share spells ability. So spells that target "You and 1 ally" or "You or creature touched" aren't fair game, since you could already cast them on the AC/familiar even without share spells.

Hope this clears things up!


Patrick Renie wrote:
Hope this clears things up!

Thanks so much!

The Exchange

FYI, clarification has been added to d20pfsrd.com :D
-signed, your friendly neighborhood fixerman.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Spell Sponge feat and allowed spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.