Cleric using both Destructive Smite and Ferocious Strike on 1 attack?


Rules Questions

Shadow Lodge

I posted this in the wrong forum before and didn't get a good response so I'm hoping to get some better advice here.

Ok, so I am going for a concept here and am trying to determine if I can use both the Destructive Smite and Ferocious Strike (Destruction Domain and Ferocity Sub-domain) in combat for a single attack. I don't see any reason I can't as one is a moral bonus and the other doesn't state what bonus type it is. Basically what I'm asking is can I:

Declare an attack
Declare it a Destructive Smite & Ferocious Strike
Roll for hit
(If hit) Apply STR + Destructive Smite/Ferocious Strike damage

?

This is also for PFS so I'm trying to be very specific on this.

Also, can I use these while raged (As per the Rage sub-domain, and/or under the influence of the Rage spell)?


Yes on all accounts.

They are not conflicting bonus types nor conflicting in action economy. They are both SU which can be used while in rage (if not a great number of rage powers wouldn't work.)

RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

RAW there is nothing prohibiting it (unless its written in something i don't have/haven't seen). that said, i haven't played any PFS sessions but i've heard that 'table variance' means sometimes you can't do stuff like that even though it seems like you ought to be able to...


ShaperMC wrote:

can I:

Declare an attack
Declare it a Destructive Smite & Ferocious Strike
Roll for hit
(If hit) Apply STR + Destructive Smite/Ferocious Strike damage

Destructive Smite (Su): "You gain the destructive smite power: the supernatural ability to make a single melee attack with a morale bonus on damage rolls equal to 1/2 your cleric level (minimum 1). You must declare the destructive smite before making the attack. You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Wisdom modifier."

Ferocious Strike (Su): "Whenever you make a melee attack, you can designate that attack as a ferocious strike. If the attack hits, it deals additional damage equal to 1/2 your cleric level (minimum +1). You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Wisdom modifier."

Supernatural Abilities (Su): "Using a supernatural ability is usually a standard action (unless defined otherwise by the ability's description)."

Destructive Smite doesn't say it changes or modifies an attack, it's an attack itself, which means it defaults to a standard action.

Ferocious Strike modifies an existing attack, so it can add on to any melee attack.

So yes, you can use them both together, but it's not on any random attack, it's specifically the attack made when you use Ferocious Strike as a standard action. Not during a full-attack, or AoO, or attack action, etc.

Dark Archive

I am hoping to get more discussion on this.

I would think that since each would be a standard action, you not be able to use both. Neither action is listed as swift or immediate.

The text that says whenever you make an attack sounds like it could be done on any of several in a full attack, all in a full attack, or an attack if opportunity but again, it does not say it could be done as a swift or immediate so I think they used poor wording when they said whenever.

I am also curious if one could activate one or both.of these on a vital strike. What about fighting defensively? It is my understanding that you have to pick one standard action or another. Not combine two standard action onto the same roll. Would fighting defensively and aid another be seperate actions and thus not combine able?

Anymore feedback?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Cleric using both Destructive Smite and Ferocious Strike on 1 attack? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.