Snake Fang clarification


Rules Questions


Benefit: While using the Snake Style feat, when an opponent’s attack misses you, you can make an unarmed strike against that opponent as an attack of opportunity. If this attack of opportunity hits, you can spend an immediate action to make another unarmed strike against the same opponent.

I read this as I can make a counter attack against someone who has missed me with an attack so long as they are within my reach and I have remaining Attacks of Opportunity. Additionally, I can chose to spend an immediate action any time after I successfully hit to add in an additional attack that does not count as an AoO.

So theoretically, with a Dexterity of 18, I could make five attacks after five misses against me and a sixth attack at some point as a follow up if I hit?


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

Point 1: You need combat reflexes in order to take more than one AoO/turn.

Point 2: The immediate action follow-up must be performed immediately upon hitting with your AoO granted by Snake Fang, not just any AoO you happen to get.

Theoretically, yes, if all the conditions are met, you could get 5 AoOs. One of those AoOs that you took and hit with could be followed up with an immediate action unarmed strike.


SlimGauge wrote:

Point 1: You need combat reflexes in order to take more than one AoO/turn.

Point 2: The immediate action follow-up must be performed immediately upon hitting with your AoO granted by Snake Fang, not just any AoO you happen to get.

Theoretically, yes, if all the conditions are met, you could get 5 AoOs. One of those AoOs that you took and hit with could be followed up with an immediate action unarmed strike.

Well Combat Reflexes is a pre-req for Snake Fang so I figured that kind of went without saying. I get that the immediate action must be performed as a follow up to an AoO granted by Snake Fang, but not necessarily the first AoO granted, correct? I can choose to use as a follow up to another Fang-granted attack later in that turn, to use it against someone else whom might attack me later that round or to not use it at all and save my swift action, correct?


Damocles Guile wrote:
Well Combat Reflexes is a pre-req for Snake Fang so I figured that kind of went without saying.

Not necessarily; if you're fighting with unarmed strikes and style feats, there's a fair chance that you're a Master of Many Styles Monk and can bypass that prerequisite.

Damocles Guile wrote:
I get that the immediate action must be performed as a follow up to an AoO granted by Snake Fang, but not necessarily the first AoO granted, correct? I can choose to use as a follow up to another Fang-granted attack later in that turn, to use it against someone else whom might attack me later that round or to not use it at all and save my swift action, correct?

Correct.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Snake Fang clarification All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.