Polymorph, Wild Shape - How do they actually work?


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

This came up in a recent PFS game, but it's a simple rule question.

When a creature is under the effect of a Transmutation [Polymorph] effect, (let's use Beast Shape II as an example), does its TYPE change.

Case 1: A human wizard casts Beast Shape II, assuming the form of a leopard. A colleague then casts Enlarge Person on him. Does it work?

Case 2: A human druid wildshapes into an Earth Elemental. He then dons a Hat of Disguise. Does this allow him to disguise himself as a dwarf? What about as a Water Elemental?

Can I get a reference on this sort of thing?

Dark Archive

Does type change? RAW is not clear.

However it doesn't affect the answer to (1) which is no.

1) No. In the magic chapter under transmutation (polymorph):

Quote: You can only be affected by one polymorph spell at a time. If a new polymorph spell is cast on you (or you activate a polymorph effect, such as wild shape), you can decide whether or not to allow it to affect you, taking the place of the old spell. In addition, other spells that change your size have no effect on you while you are under the effects of a polymorph spell.

2)It works like the Disguise self spell:

Quote: You make yourself - including clothing, armor, weapons, and equipment - look different. You can seem 1 foot shorter or taller, thin, fat, or in between. You cannot change your creature type (although you can appear as another subtype).

IF type changes then:

Leapord to Dwarf: No. Different type. Animal to Humanoid

Earth Elemental to water elemental. Apparently yes! Same type: outsider but wouldn't change sound or heat.

Note for added weirdness that Aasimars and Tieflings are outsiders not humanoids.


So if type doesn't change, Wildshape to Earth Elemental followed by Hat of Disguise to Dwarf works?

Grand Lodge

Your type doesn't change.

1) You can be the target of enlarge person since you are a humanoid, but as ZomB said, it doesn't change your size due to the rules for polymorph spells.

2) Interesting interaction. I think it makes more sense that the hat can change you to a different variation within the type of your current physical form: earth elemental to water elemental.

Dark Archive

Clarification that polymorph does not change your type from Jason Bulmahn (Lead Designer)

So weirdness abounds.

Dark Archive

I also had this come up in a PFS game, though didn't spot it at the time, where anthropomorphic animal and reduce animal were used together. The reduce does not work because of the polymorph rule.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Polymorph, Wild Shape - How do they actually work? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions