Disruptive Spell Question


Rules Questions


Hi guys, quick question about the disruptive spell feat. Maybe I am missing some text, but it says that

Quote:
Targets affected by a disruptive spell must make concentration checks when using spells or spell-like abilities

.

Does this mean that if you cast a disruptive spell that has an effect even when they succeed on their original save (say, fireball), then they will still be affected by the disruptive aspect of the feat? That seems like it would be very useful.


If they're "affected by" the spell, then yes.


I think that disruptive spells would have to have a longer lasting duration to maintain the disruption effect (think Melf's Acid Arrow). Thus a disruptive silence spell could be especially nasty, but a disruptive magic missile would do nothing (except maybe a readied one by way of quicken in the effort of disrupting another caster).


JustKhaos wrote:
I think that disruptive spells would have to have a longer lasting duration to maintain the disruption effect (think Melf's Acid Arrow). Thus a disruptive silence spell could be especially nasty, but a disruptive magic missile would do nothing (except maybe a readied one by way of quicken in the effort of disrupting another caster).

That is false.

Disruptive Spell wrote:
Targets affected by a disruptive spell must make concentration checks when using spells or spell-like abilities (DC equals the save DC of the disruptive spell plus the level of the spell being cast) for 1 round.

(Emphasis mine.)


My apologies, I'm going from memory here, I don't have my books with me at work. I agree with Oladon.


Off-topic:
You may be thinking of Extend Spell, which specifies certain spell durations with which it does not work.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Disruptive Spell Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.