Magus Spell Dancer 9th - Dimension Door question


Rules Questions


Just looking for quick clarification: At 9th level, the Spell Dancer Magus can use Dimension Door once per spell dance. Specific wording:

"Spell Dance wrote:
At 1st level, a spell dancer gains the ability to expend 1 point from his arcane pool as a swift action to gain a +10 enhancement bonus to his movement rate...At 9th level, the spell dancer may instead take a swift action to use dimension door as a spell-like ability once during a spelldance.

While the GM agreed with me, one of the players argued that in this case Dimension Door could not be used to take people with me. I do not see anything in the wording that indicates that the spell text is altered so that I can only teleport myself; anyone aware of any alterations on this?

As an aside, Spell Dance might be considered a weak archetype, but combining it with a Dervish magus build is really fun to play. :)

Paizo Employee Organized Play Developer

There doesn't appear to be anything in the archetype or ability that would prevent you from bringing another character with you just like any other use of Dimension Door.


Xaratherus wrote:
one of the players argued that in this case Dimension Door could not be used to take people with me. I do not see anything in the wording that indicates that the spell text is altered so that I can only teleport myself; anyone aware of any alterations on this?

As written, you can use dimension door as a spell-like ability. A spell-like ability works just like the spell of that name unless it says otherwise.

However, all the other spell dance effects are self-only (blur/fly/haste/freedom of movement) so one could argue that the intent is that dimension door should be the same.

Be sure to look into Dimensional Agility.


Thanks Ssalarn and Grick. Grick's latter statement was the player's argument; in this particular case I'm glad the DM sided with me, as it allowed me to teleport half the party (1 additional person per 3 levels) with me so that we had the enemy force 'flanked'.

And yes, the Dimensional* feat chain is where I'm headed. Which leads to a follow-up question: At 9th I picked up the Precise Strike feat (to use in tandem with the Druid in our group); however, when I reach Dimensional Savant, would Precise Strike kick in when flanking against myself? The text of Precise Strike specifies "Whenever you and an ally who also has this feat..." - so am I considered an ally to myself?

Scarab Sages

Yes, you are.

Paizo Employee Organized Play Developer

Xaratherus wrote:
*** however, when I reach Dimensional Savant, would Precise Strike kick in when flanking against myself? The text of Precise Strike specifies "Whenever you and an ally who also has this feat..." - so am I considered an ally to myself?

You are considered your own ally "except in situations where it doesn't make sense or would be impossible" so.... There's a little table variation on this one, but I'd say you're probably good to go.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magus Spell Dancer 9th - Dimension Door question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.