Question about Splintered Spear (su) from UM


Rules Questions


According to the description, a wizard can create a shortspear which 'hurls itself' at an enemy. (UM, page 88)

My question is: Is this attack subject to the same rules as a non-magical ranged attack?

Thanks!


Here's a link.

Denim N Leather wrote:
My question is: Is this attack subject to the same rules as a non-magical ranged attack?

No, it's not.

  • The Wizard's Intelligence modifier is added to his BAB, instead of Dexterity.
  • The range, while still subject to the usual range modifiers, is capped at 100'
  • the Spear "hurls itself", so modifiers that apply to a normal spear throw by this Wizard do not apply.
  • It is completely unclear if the Spear's Strength bonus should be considered zero, or -5.
  • The target should get its usual defences against a ranged attack.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Question about Splintered Spear (su) from UM All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.