Barbarian->Living Monolith


Rules Questions


If a Barbarian were to PRC into being a Living Monolith, would the Barbarian's class DR stack with the Monolith's class DR?


Per the CRB,

"If a creature has damage reduction from more than one source, the two forms of damage reduction do not stack. Instead, the creature gets the benefit of the best damage reduction in a given situation."

At times, however, Damage Reduction is specified to stack with other types of Damage Reduction.


Given the fact that both the base class and prestige class have a very similar DR progression, and you really can't get ahead by any particular multi-class combination, I'd definitely allow them to stack in this case.

There's definitely a danger with allowing unlimited DR stacking, but if it's coming from class features it's probably okay.


Takamonk wrote:

Per the CRB,

"If a creature has damage reduction from more than one source, the two forms of damage reduction do not stack. Instead, the creature gets the benefit of the best damage reduction in a given situation."

At times, however, Damage Reduction is specified to stack with other types of Damage Reduction.

That's the general rule, but I'm wondering if this does count as coming from the same source in this case, considering that you're gaining the DR as a class ability, and all other class abilities tend to stack(Sneak Attack, Uncanny Dodge, Trapfinding, Domains, etc.)


No. If it stacked it would say it stacks. See Stalwart/Improved Stalwart feats as an example.

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

If you are building such a PC, I would look at the DR gained by each class.

Then, if the Living Monolith DR was greater, I would choose a Barbarian archetype that replaces DR.


I believe that the no stacking general rule is specifically geared toward DR of different types, as in overcome by different sources such as DR 5/silver and DR 10/magic, and also DR from different sources of the same type in static amounts, like a creature with a template. However, these are DR of the same type from technically identical sources though arguably parallel, but the big difference is that it is not static. It is specifically designed to increase in a point by point, level by level fashion. Being of a fair mind as GM, I would consider the fact that a barbarian character would have a certain amount of DR by nth level, and a non-barbarian living monolith would have a certain amount of DR as well, so both would benefit from the class feature, but if a barbarian living monolith would reach nth level and not have the features stack, it would be lessening one or the other and thus denying the character of a class feature with nothing in exchange for the loss. I believe they would stack, and I would just houserule it that way regardless of whether or not we get a clear confirmation from Paizo on the matter.

Scarab Sages

Sean H wrote:
If a Barbarian were to PRC into being a Living Monolith, would the Barbarian's class DR stack with the Monolith's class DR?

Looked them both up, just to double check. Nothing to suggest they stack. You'd use the best one in any given situation.

If you want an example of DR that specifically stacks, the Armor Master fighter archetype has one:

Quote:
Armored Defense (Ex): At 5th level, an armor master gains DR 1/— when wearing light armor, DR 2/— when wearing medium armor, and DR 3/— when wearing heavy armor. At 19th level, this damage reduction increases to DR 4/— when wearing light armor, DR 8/— when wearing medium armor, and DR 12/— when wearing heavy armor. This damage reduction stacks with that provided by adamantine armor, but not with other forms of damage reduction. This damage reduction does not apply if the armor master is stunned, unconscious, or helpless. This ability replaces weapon training 1 and 3, and armor mastery.

(bold is mine)

and the related rules for adamantite:

Quote:


[PFS Legal] Adamantine
Source Ultimate Equipment pg. 48 (Amazon), PRPG Core Rulebook pg. 154 (Amazon)

Mined from rocks that fell from the heavens, this ultrahard metal adds to the quality of a weapon or suit of armor. Weapons fashioned from adamantine have a natural ability to bypass hardness when sundering weapons or attacking objects, ignoring hardness less than 20. Armor made from adamantine grants its wearer damage reduction of 1/— if it’s light armor, 2/— if it’s medium armor, and 3/— if it’s heavy armor. Adamantine is so costly that weapons and armor made from it are always of masterwork quality; the masterwork cost is included in the prices given below. Thus, adamantine weapons and ammunition have a +1 enhancement bonus on attack rolls, and the armor check penalty of adamantine armor is lessened by 1 compared to ordinary armor of its type. Items without metal parts cannot be made from adamantine. An arrow could be made of adamantine, but a quarterstaff could not.

So a 5th level Armor Master in Adamantine Heavy armor (like fullplate) has DR 6/-

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies, Representative - D20 Hobbies

Sean H wrote:
That's the general rule, but I'm wondering if this does count as coming from the same source in this case, considering that you're gaining the DR as a class ability, and all other class abilities tend to stack(Sneak Attack, Uncanny Dodge, Trapfinding, Domains, etc.)

Same source would be "all coming from barbarian". Once you have barbarian and living monolith, you have two sources.

Damage stacks because that's the rule.
Uncanny Dodge says it stacks.
I'm not sure trap finding and domains stack. Do you have an example?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Barbarian->Living Monolith All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.