Gelatinous cube: Engulf, perception check and movement speed


Rules Questions


Ok, the things I'm curious about in regards to gelatinous cube:

When using engulf, does he use it AS he's using his move action? How many can he engulf if so? Does he stop moving once he's engulfed someone? If someone suceeds against paralysis, what can he attempt to break out (considering he's ALSO pinned)? Once paralysis wears off, can he be paralysed again? If he saves against paralysis, can the cube attempt another paralysis?

On the perception check, should the player ask for one or should I tell him to roll it?

Can the gelatinous cube run or charge?


Engulf (Ex)

Although it moves slowly, a gelatinous cube can simply engulf Large or smaller creatures in its path as a standard action. It cannot make a slam attack during a round in which it engulfs. The gelatinous cube merely has to move over the opponents, affecting as many as it can cover. Opponents can make attacks of opportunity against the cube, but if they do so they are not entitled to a saving throw. Those who do not attempt attacks of opportunity can attempt a DC 12 Reflex save to avoid being engulfed—on a success, they are pushed back or aside (opponent's choice) as the cube moves forward. Engulfed creatures are subject to the cube's paralysis and acid, gain the pinned condition, are in danger of suffocating, and are trapped within its body until they are no longer pinned. The save DC is Strength-based.

Think that was pretty clear if you only read the bold parts. It moves forward, automatically engulfing anyone that AoO, and those that fail their save. Once in you are pin, you are subject to continuous acid and paralysis checks until you are able to roll to try to break free. Yes being inside a cube kinda sucks, hence why you avoid doing so.

Perception for something in his/her normal field of view, not requiring fine detail or a special skill set, is automatic. Do you have to try to notice the city bus going down the street? No but you do to find the nickel you dropped on the floor (albeit low, nearly automatic). If you dropped it in a field of tall grass the Dc goes up.

On can it run or charge nothing in its description or ooze say it can so by RAW yes. However as GM I would say no as it is mindless so it does not have a reason to think it needs to or otherwise take independent action. It simply moves regardless of if that corridor has "food" in it or not.

Sovereign Court

Grayfeather wrote:


On can it run or charge nothing in its description or ooze say it can so by RAW yes. However as GM I would say no as it is mindless so it does not have a reason to think it needs to or otherwise take independent action. It simply moves regardless of if that corridor has "food" in it or not.

It cannot engulf as part of a run or charge because those are not standard actions.


Thanks for the help :)


Well I had a huge argument with my players over this one. According to raw, how I read it, it can't engulf at all. Because the cube can move as a movement action, not engulfing anyone then activating engulf as a standard action, still not engulfing anyone becauseraw doesn't state you can move during the standard action. Or he can standard action, "activating" the ability then move its speed to engulf. That's how my players interpreted it. It doesn't make sense to me that a cube would stroll up to its food at half its potential speed, so I interrupted it as "as a standard action, the cube may move its speed and engulf characters that it moves over"

It must be interpreted as that or, "as a full round action, the cube may move its speed and engulf characters it moves over..."

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Gelatinous cube: Engulf, perception check and movement speed All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.