Acrobatics question


Rules Questions

Shadow Lodge

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

a friend of mine pointed out to me something about acrobatics and its raised some questions in my Mind

the way that Acrobatics is Worded is when using it to move through a threatened square you move at 1/2 speed

By RAW Acrobatics is not a move action ... its a mode of movement and seems to support moving normally ...and making the acrobatics squares as 1/2 movement

SRD wrote:
In addition, you can move through a threatened square without provoking an attack of opportunity from an enemy by using Acrobatics. When moving in this way, you move at half speed. You can move at full speed by increasing the DC of the check by 10. You cannot use Acrobatics to move past foes if your speed is reduced due to carrying a medium or heavy load or wearing medium or heavy armor. If an ability allows you to move at full speed under such conditions, you can use Acrobatics to move past foes. You can use Acrobatics in this way while prone, but doing so requires a full-round action to move 5 feet, and the DC is increased by 5. If you attempt to move through an enemy’s space and fail the check, you lose the move action and provoke an attack of opportunity.

whats your thoughts ?


uhm... if you use acrobatics to move through a threatened square by making an acrobatics check (DC = opponents CMD) you move at half speed (ie threatened squares count as two each, assuming there is nothing else at play that also lowers speed such as difficult Teriann)... if instead you beat his CMD by 10 or more you can move through those squares at your full normal speed (again, assuming there is nothing else at play that also lowers speed such as difficult terrain).

Not all uses of acrobatics force you to move at half speed while doing them.

Shadow Lodge

yes .... but the only part I was interested in was this ....

since Acrobatics only references Threatened squares as double movment ... and not acrobatics as a move action

whats your thoughts on a combination of normal moves and acrobatics 1/2 speed squares in combination


I have always used them in combination, though I can't say if that is legal or not.


Basically, the threatened squares act as sort of difficult terrain. When you are in a threatened square, it costs twice as much as normal to move through them. The key is "when moving in this way". You are only acrobating in the threatened squares, so the movement penalty only applies in the threatened squares.

Sczarni

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

In PFS every GM I've had said that your entire move was halved, but in my home games I only count the threatened squares as double.


Making an Acrobatics check is part of the action that makes you move.
Before making that action you decide that you want to move either at half speed or at full speed increasing DC of acrobatic checks by 10.

Shadow Lodge

Looks like I really need to study the FAQ because the answer was in there

FAQ wrote:

Acrobatics: How does Acrobatics (Core Rulebook, page 87) work when you use it to avoid attacks of opportunity? When do you make checks? How many do you make?

Acrobatics allows you to make checks to move through the threatened area of foes without provoking attacks of opportunity. You must make a check the moment you attempt to leave a square threatened by an enemy, but only once per foe. The DC (which is based of the Combat Maneuver Defense of each foe), increases by +2 for each foe after the first in one round. The DC also increases by +5 if you attempt to move through a foe. In the case of moving out of the threatened square of two foes at the same time, the moving character decides which check to make first.

For example, a rogue is flanked by a meek goblin and a terrifying antipaladin. The rogue move away from both of them, provoking an attack of opportunity from both, but uses Acrobatics to attempt to negate them. She must move at half speed while threatened by these foes and can choose which to check against first. If she fails a check, she provokes an attack of opportunity from that foe. If she makes it, she does not provoke from moving through that foe's threatened space this turn.

—Jason Bulmahn, 11/24/10

Emphasis mine


Nefreet wrote:
In PFS every GM I've had said that your entire move was halved, but in my home games I only count the threatened squares as double.

It sounds like your PFS Game Masters were wrong!

Shadow Lodge

I admit .... until yesterday I would not have allowed this ... as I assumed it worked that way .... now that I found the FAQ ... I know I was wrong

The Exchange

How does this work for moving through several consecutive square that are threatened by the same enemy? The rule states the rogue must make a check the moment he tries to leave each threatened square, but the rule also states that there is only one check per foe.

Does that mean one check per foe for each threatened square, or one check per foe for the entire move?

In other words, if the rogue moves through three squares threatened by a single foe, does he have to make three checks (one for each threatened square) or just one check for the entire move?


It is one check per Foe For the whole move...

Basically your Tumbling outside of their attack Range or evasively Dodging them...

So if it is one is tumbling Past 3 foes

+2 +4 + 6

Thru
+7 +9 +11

Then you have ROGUE TALENT AWESOMNESS
HAZZAAA
Fast Tumble (Ex)

Prerequisite: Advanced talents

Benefit: When a rogue with this talent uses Acrobatics to move at full speed through a threatened square without provoking an attack of opportunity, the DC of the Acrobatics check does not increase by 10.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Acrobatics question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.