FAQ Updated


Pathfinder Society

Grand Lodge 4/5 Pathfinder Society Campaign Coordinator

6 people marked this as a favorite.

Reworded to better clarify casters adding spells to their spellbook.

LINK

5/5

The last updated date needs updating as it says "Last updated: November 07, 2012"

Liberty's Edge 4/5 5/55/5 ** Venture-Lieutenant, California—Sacramento

Awesome Mike!!!

That said, before I get excited in thinking you changed the rule for getting new spells and did what myself and others have been asking for 3+ years, I am a little confused on some wording.

PFS FAQ wrote:
In the rare instance of a wizard charging a fee for the privilege of copying spells from their spellbooks, this fee is equal to half the cost to write the spell into a spellbook (see Writing a New Spell into a Spellbook). Rare and unique spells do not change the fee in PFS.

The use of the word rare is throwing me off, because I can tell you this will not be rare but the Norm. Is there some meaning behind that use or am I seeing something there that is not there?

Can I now at the end of the scenario (or during) when I am in an appropriate city just tell the GM I am buying the privilege of copying spells from a wizards spellbook? Or is it something that will only come up on rare occasions in the story of the scenario or as a boon on the chronicle sheet?

Dark Archive 4/5

Perhaps it is an indication of what a wizard's last resort is? I asked in the other thread as well, but it would be nice to know if wizards can go spell shopping (so long as they are in a sufficiently big city of course).

Grand Lodge 4/5 Pathfinder Society Campaign Coordinator

2 people marked this as a favorite.

No secret meaning behind the word "rare." Just ignore that one word and I will remove it when I get back to the office after Winter Fantasy.

When in an appropriate city, and at the end of an adventure, have the GM notate on your Chronicle sheet whatever purchases you make, including copying spells from spellbooks.

Liberty's Edge 4/5 5/55/5 ** Venture-Lieutenant, California—Sacramento

Mike, You have made me a very happy person, my Alchemist and now future Wizard thanks you! ;)

I would give you a hug if I thought I could get away with it.. ;)

Grand Lodge 2/5 RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Thanks Mike!

Dark Archive 4/5

One more question Mike. Witches unfortunately are unable to learn from spellbooks; rather, their third method for learning is to have their familiar commune with another witch's familiar. Is this an avenue available to them for spellbook-sharing prices, or are they still required to purchase scrolls for spells they don't receive while leveling?

Grand Lodge 2/5 RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Adam Mogyorodi wrote:
One more question Mike. Witches unfortunately are unable to learn from spellbooks; rather, their third method for learning is to have their familiar commune with another witch's familiar. Is this an avenue available to them for spellbook-sharing prices, or are they still required to purchase scrolls for spells they don't receive while leveling?

Good catch - the class description makes it out to be a spell-for-spell trade; I never noticed that.

Stupid witches, always causing problems. ;)

Grand Lodge 4/5 Pathfinder Society Campaign Coordinator

2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 12 people marked this as a favorite.
Adam Mogyorodi wrote:
One more question Mike. Witches unfortunately are unable to learn from spellbooks; rather, their third method for learning is to have their familiar commune with another witch's familiar. Is this an avenue available to them for spellbook-sharing prices, or are they still required to purchase scrolls for spells they don't receive while leveling?

Yes it is available.

Dark Archive 4/5

Fantastic. I'm sure the witches are cackling with glee right now.

Shadow Lodge 4/5 5/5 RPG Superstar Season 9 Top 8

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Adam Mogyorodi wrote:
Fantastic. I'm sure the witches are cackling with glee right now.

Assuming they have the move actions open to do so.

Dark Archive 4/5

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Walter Sheppard wrote:
Adam Mogyorodi wrote:
Fantastic. I'm sure the witches are cackling with glee right now.
Assuming they have the move actions open to do so.

Anything to keep this Fortune going.

5/5

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

I think I will stick to blood transcription. Unless there is a rare high level spell I need. I am glad that I no longer have to pay the full price of the spell to learn it.

Liberty's Edge 1/5

Adam Mogyorodi wrote:
Fantastic. I'm sure the witches are cackling with glee right now.

The black soul of a which is incapable of experiencing glee.

Liberty's Edge 4/5 5/5

Sulaco wrote:
The black soul of a which is incapable of experiencing glee.

Which witch?

Dark Archive 4/5

The solely black-souled witch, which I'm sure you already knew.

Grand Lodge 3/5

So, my understanding is that a 2nd level wizard spell obtained from an NPC spellcaster sharing his spellbook to a PC in a large city like Absalom would be 60gp (40gp as the copying cost, and half of that for the privilege 20gp).

I would assume that a PC should have a minimum fame of 5 to do this, as his Maximum item cost is capped at 0gp until he reaches a fame of 5.
Would that make sense?

Thanks

Liberty's Edge 4/5 5/55/5 ** Venture-Lieutenant, California—Sacramento

Good point...

Mike You may want to address the Fame issue. My guess it Level 1 spells would not require fame since Level 1 Scrolls do not.

Dark Archive 4/5

1st level spells should require no fame, and I would not be at all surprised if a wizard was reluctant to show his higher level spells to a brand new apprentice with no great deeds to his name.

The Exchange 4/5

This really shouldn't need to be clarified, but can you put a line that says "PCs may not charge other PCs to copy spells from their spellbooks" It should be clear and obvious but common sense isn't that common :)

Also thank you for this update!

5/5

Benrislove wrote:
This really shouldn't need to be clarified, but can you put a line that says "PCs may not charge other PCs to copy spells from their spellbooks" It should be clear and obvious but common sense isn't that common :)

It's against the rules to charge another player for anything, so it doesn't specifically need to be called out in this case.

The Exchange 4/5

I agree with your statement and sentiment, however the fact that there is a cost listed for access to a spellbook I fear that question will show up more than "Is casting infernal healing going to change my alignment". Could easily be unfounded however.

1/5

Very glad to see that spellcasters can now pay for copying spells instead of purchasing scrolls to copy. Those higher level spells get very expensive, even when you are getting them for free from a fellow player. Thanks Mike!

Agree with Benrislove. Some players will see the FAQ as a specific rule that counters the general no player-player economy.

Grand Lodge 2/5 RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Lab_Rat wrote:
Some players will see the FAQ as a specific rule that counters the general no player-player economy.

There is a certain threshold of minimum rational capacity, beneath which misunderstandings should be addressed by word of mouth or messageboard clarification rather than by FAQ entries or paragraphs in the Guide.

No matter how clear a rule is, there will be some non-zero population of players who misunderstand it. That fact does not necessarily mean a rule is unclear or that a new one must be written.

Sovereign Court

Mike Lindner wrote:
The last updated date needs updating as it says "Last updated: November 07, 2012"

That post made me dizzy, but I think I agree!

Liberty's Edge 5/5

Jiggy wrote:
Lab_Rat wrote:
Some players will see the FAQ as a specific rule that counters the general no player-player economy.

There is a certain threshold of minimum rational capacity, beneath which misunderstandings should be addressed by word of mouth or messageboard clarification rather than by FAQ entries or paragraphs in the Guide.

No matter how clear a rule is, there will be some non-zero population of players who misunderstand it. That fact does not necessarily mean a rule is unclear or that a new one must be written.

I agree.

I think ultimately this is a non-issue and the no player-player economy is a sacrosanct rule that just can't be broken.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / FAQ Updated All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.