Dismissing spells


Rules Questions


I am pretty sure you can not end a spells duration early
(other then concentration and spells that indicate a "D" in their description)
but I want to be sure since it really seems like you should.
(unless its creating something real/permanent)

Also if you cant dismiss your own spell, is it possible to cast it at a lower level?

The answer is probably no to this as well, but I suspect most would house rule its okay.

I know its not something most casters would want to do, but if you created a situation where magical auras would get you detected, and were using magic to speed up your travel, you would want to be able to end it on time with your arrival to the stealth zone. (with out having to waste a dispel magic on your own magic)

Liberty's Edge

3 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Companion Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

As we have a specific rule about dismissing spells, if a spell don't respect that rule it can't be dismissed voluntarily.

PRD wrote:

(D) Dismissible: If the duration line ends with “(D),” you can dismiss the spell at will. You must be within range of the spell's effect and must speak words of dismissal, which are usually a modified form of the spell's verbal component. If the spell has no verbal component, you can dismiss the effect with a gesture. Dismissing a spell is a standard action that does not provoke attacks of opportunity.

A spell that depends on concentration is dismissible by its very nature, and dismissing it does not take an action, since all you have to do to end the spell is to stop concentrating on your turn.

You can cast a spell at a lower caster level than your current value, but the modified caster level you have chosen should be sufficent to have access to a spell of that level:

PRD wrote:
You can cast a spell at a lower caster level than normal, but the caster level you choose must be high enough for you to cast the spell in question, and all level-dependent features must be based on the same caster level.

Bot quotes from the Magic section of the rules.


Diego Rossi is correct.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Dismissing spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.