Magic Item Saving Throw


Rules Questions


I know that off the shelf magic items are assumed created at the minimum requirements and so the DC's are kinda low. Can you create an item at a higher DC? Say my wizard makes a wand of lightning bolt, does the DC NEED to be 14 or do I add my int/feats?

Liberty's Edge

You can add metamagic feats as long as they don't raise the spell level above 4 (the maximum for a wand). Normally you can't use feats like spell penetration with a wand.

You can make a wand with a higher caster level, but it will cost more.

The applicable characteristic is still limited by the original level of the spell, before applying the metamagic. A wizard can take the discovery staff like wand and apply his level and intelligence to a wand spells.
It is a very good discovery.

PRD wrote:

Staff-Like Wand: Your research has unlocked a new power in conjunction with using a wand. Similar to using a magic staff, you use your own Intelligence score and relevant feats to set the DC for saves against spells you cast from a wand, and you can use your caster level when activating the power of a wand if it's higher than the caster level of the wand. You must be at least an 11th-level wizard and must have the Craft Staff feat to select this discovery.[/quote+


I get that, and I always pictured staff-like wand being used to save gold but if you make the item, does it have a higher DC?

Liberty's Edge

Only if you use the Heighten Spell metamagic feat. with a want you can heighten a spell only up to 4th level.

So a wand with a charm person spell heightened to 4th level would have a DC of 10 +4 for the level of the spell + 2 for the minimum int needed to cast level 4 spells (Heighten is the only metamagic that actually increase the level of the spell) = 16 total DC. That is the maximum for a wand.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magic Item Saving Throw All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.