Mind Control and Buffs (Blessing of Fervor)


Rules Questions


Hey. Bit of a weird situation.

My character is an Oracle and cast Blessing of Fervor at the start of combat targetting himself and his four allies.

During that fight though my character was mind controlled and has been ordered to kill everyone else in the party.

Since Blessing of Fervor states that he blesses his 'allies' do they then lose that effect? If not from that, can he selectively remove the blessing from his target? Or will he need to actually end the whole spell?

Can he even end the buff without the other characters permission?


Thomas Mack 727 wrote:
Since Blessing of Fervor states that he blesses his 'allies' do they then lose that effect?

No, they do not lose the benefit of any buffs that only target your allies. That only applies when you cast the spell. So if you or one of your allies gets mind controlled, they still benefit from the spell until the end of it's duration.

Thomas Mack 727 wrote:

If not from that, can he selectively remove the blessing from his target? Or will he need to actually end the whole spell?

Can he even end the buff without the other characters permission?

Some spells will let you dismiss them before the duration ends. These are marked by a (d) to the right of their duration. Grease for example is dismissible, while Blessing of Fervor is not. So the only way to remove it, is with dispel magic.


My caster just shot Enervate at the team mate with the buff. I got a total of 13, and his touch AC is 12. ... WIthout the +2 to AC from the buff.

So I am kind of torn... On the one side I am glad this means I didn't just drop the party healer by several levels. On the other hand I am annoyed that such a cool spell just whiffed. :D

Thanks for the rules clarification though. :)


I'm curious as to how people would rule inspiring courage. I think that effect would end when the mind control occurs.

Paizo Employee Organized Play Developer

Hawktitan wrote:
I'm curious as to how people would rule inspiring courage. I think that effect would end when the mind control occurs.

Or immediately begin affecting the enemy. I wonder how that would work with Lingering Performance...


Thomas Mack 727 wrote:
My character is an Oracle and cast Blessing of Fervor at the start of combat targetting himself and his four allies.

While spells are fire and forget, I'd treat the "allies" requirement just as a creature-type requirement. If the relevant status changes, the spell is negated.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Mind Control and Buffs (Blessing of Fervor) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.