How to Upgrade Your Gear in PFS.


Pathfinder Society Roleplaying Guild

701 to 723 of 723 << first < prev | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | next > last >>

I was wondering:

Would be possible the cosmetic (only) modification of an existing wondrous item?

I mean...just the "fluff" description of it.

Like having a Diabolical Masquerade Mask that, instead of looking like an "handsome horned devil with red lenses in place of eyes", looked like an "attractive nogitsune oni with red lenses in place of eyes"?

Thanks,
Skarm

Liberty's Edge ** Venture-Captain, Nebraska—Omaha

As long as the re-skin does not provide material benefit, it should be ok.

Sczarni ***** ⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

And as long as anyone attempting to identify it wouldn't be misled by your description.

I, personally, think your destination would be fine.

Scarab Sages ****

Yeah, I think this will probably be fine. For my Ninja, I used to describe her Mask of Stony Demeanor as a porcelain kabuki-style mask, followed by an out of character explanation of what it was. I never ran into any issues, but I was fine with dropping that description if a GM wanted me to for a session, and I never expected it to alter the mechanics or being able to recognize what it was.

EDIT: As a counter example, I purchased Lenses of Detection for my Rogue because the picture of them in Ultimate Equipment looks like sunglasses, while the picture of the Eyes of the Eagle... does not. Knowing how popular Eyes of the Eagle are, I see that image and it makes me laugh thinking about so many Pathfinders walking around wearing them. I'm less comfortable reskinning those to look like sunglasses, because the Lenses of Detection already do.

Grand Lodge

Hi, all.
Dunno if this was mentioned earlier in the thread- looked through but couldn’t see it:
If I have a +1 1 Lesser Designating weapon, can I improve that to a +1 Designating at a later date?

Sczarni ***** ⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

You can, now.

Earlier in this thread you were unable to.

Grand Lodge

Nefreet wrote:

You can, now.

Earlier in this thread you were unable to.

Awesome. Thanks!


Kyle Baird wrote:

Can I Upgrade a Named Magic Item?

Named magic items—including specific armor and specific weapons—are not upgradeable. Non-magic specific armor and specific weapons may be upgraded normally. Magic armor and weapons may be upgraded to named versions if they are the same basic material and shape as, and meet but do not exceed the enhancement bonuses of the named versions. Wondrous items whose names include a +X value (such as bracers of armor, headband of vast intelligence, amulet of might fists, etc.) may also be upgraded following the rules for upgrading magical items on page 19 of the Guide to Pathfinder Society Organized Play.

Admittedly I might be a bit annoying about this one, but I do want to ask exactly WHY you cannot upgrade named items. I mean I get that this might just be a rules thing, but there are so many interesting unique items that just become completely useless by the lack of scaling.

For my specific example of this, Folding Plate. I ADORE the concept of folding plate, but wonder why one cannot enhance it. I mean I understand the general answer of 'this is not part of the rules and as such it cannot be done'. But I wonder just what we gain from this restriction. Again pardon if I annoy with this question. (and hell, maybe there is something that I don't know about that can break balance).


Warriorking9001 wrote:
Kyle Baird wrote:

Can I Upgrade a Named Magic Item?

Named magic items—including specific armor and specific weapons—are not upgradeable. Non-magic specific armor and specific weapons may be upgraded normally. Magic armor and weapons may be upgraded to named versions if they are the same basic material and shape as, and meet but do not exceed the enhancement bonuses of the named versions. Wondrous items whose names include a +X value (such as bracers of armor, headband of vast intelligence, amulet of might fists, etc.) may also be upgraded following the rules for upgrading magical items on page 19 of the Guide to Pathfinder Society Organized Play.

Admittedly I might be a bit annoying about this one, but I do want to ask exactly WHY you cannot upgrade named items. I mean I get that this might just be a rules thing, but there are so many interesting unique items that just become completely useless by the lack of scaling.

For my specific example of this, Folding Plate. I ADORE the concept of folding plate, but wonder why one cannot enhance it. I mean I understand the general answer of 'this is not part of the rules and as such it cannot be done'. But I wonder just what we gain from this restriction. Again pardon if I annoy with this question. (and hell, maybe there is something that I don't know about that can break balance).

Short answer: because you can't always tell for sure how something's price was determined.

Folding plate seems pretty straightforward (10k for the ability, plus the cost of the armor), but not everything is. For example, take the Dagger of Venom. Is the "of venom" portion priced as a +1 bonus, or is it a flat +6k? Did the designer make it a bit cheaper because it's only a dagger? You just can't know for certain, so a blanket ban is a lot easier for Paizo to deal with than trying to reverse-engineer everything.


I have a new doubt:

If a weapon (i.e., switchblade knife) is listed as "This weapon is treated as a dagger", it could be considered a dagger for purpose of specific magic item enchantment?

I mean...it can receive also enchantments that are meant for a dagger, since the "treated as" usually allows for abilities and effects that are used for a dagger?

Thanks,
Skarm

Shadow Lodge

If the thing in question specifies a limit to how it's treated as another thing ("is treated as an X for the purposes of Y"), then it's treated as that other thing only for the listed purposes.

If that thing does not specify a limit ("is treated as an X", full stop), then it is treated as that other thing in all ways.

The switchblade knife does not specify a limit to how it is treated as a dagger, so it's a dagger in all ways, minus the specifics it specifies for how it's different. So yes, a switchblade can be used with abilities that require daggers (assuming the blade is out), and can be enchanted with effects that only work on daggers.


SCPRedMage wrote:

If the thing in question specifies a limit to how it's treated as another thing ("is treated as an X for the purposes of Y"), then it's treated as that other thing only for the listed purposes.

If that thing does not specify a limit ("is treated as an X", full stop), then it is treated as that other thing in all ways.

The switchblade knife does not specify a limit to how it is treated as a dagger, so it's a dagger in all ways, minus the specifics it specifies for how it's different. So yes, a switchblade can be used with abilities that require daggers (assuming the blade is out), and can be enchanted with effects that only work on daggers.

So I need Martial proficiency (or specific proficiency) to open it as in the description BUT, once opened, I can wield it as a dagger (simple weapon proficiency) AND I can even upgrade it as a dagger?

I was also wondering:

The Spike Hilt states:

"A spike hilt can be added to any one-handed or two-handed sword or hafted weapon, which conceals a dagger within the larger weapon. An observer who succeeds at a DC 20 Perception check while carefully examining the larger weapon notices the spike hilt. Drawing a dagger from the spike hilt is a swift action. This dagger can be made masterwork or turned into a magic weapon at the normal cost."

...I am puzzled because it states one-handed or two-handed sword or hafted weapon...so it cannot be hidden in the hilt of a smaller sword (i.e., long sword or wakizashi), right?

I was puzzled because it is another dagger like weapon (which, in this case, it is literally described as "dagger").
Skarm

Shadow Lodge

The switchblade knife being listed as a martial weapon would be one of the "specifics it specifies for how it's different", meaning it would require martial weapon proficiency, full stop. I suspect that this may have been a mistake, but as written it's a martial weapon.

As to the Spike Hilt, the dagger is literally just a dagger that's hidden inside the hilt/haft, physically separate from the weapon that you're adding the Spike Hilt to. As such it's not so much "dagger-like" as it is an actual dagger.

As to what weapons you could put it in, when it says "one-handed or two-handed sword or hafted weapon", it's referring to the weapon categories: light, one-handed, and two-handed. All melee weapons qualify as one of these three categories, as listed in the weapons table, and any sword or hafted weapon that is listed as either a one-handed or two-handed weapon qualifies for a Spike Hilt. That means a longsword could have one, as it is listed as a one-handed weapon, while a wakizashi could not, as it is listed as a light weapon.

Grand Lodge ** ⦵⦵

2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
Quote:

Can I Upgrade a Named Magic Item?

Named magic items—including specific armor and specific weapons—are not upgradeable. Non-magic specific armor and specific weapons may be upgraded normally. Magic armor and weapons may be upgraded to named versions if they are the same basic material and shape as, and meet but do not exceed the enhancement bonuses of the named versions. Wondrous items whose names include a +X value (such as bracers of armor, headband of vast intelligence, amulet of might fists, etc.) may also be upgraded following the rules for upgrading magical items on page 19 of the Guide to Pathfinder Society Organized Play.

I understand how this works for Magical upgrades.

What about some of the non-magical upgrades available now in Accessories like Melee Tactics Toolbox (Shield Boss) and Adventurer's Armory 2 (Armor and Weapon Modifications)?

Could I add a Shield Boss to a Lion's Shield for instance to increase it's HP and the normal Shield Boss options?

The Clause above about "Non-Magic specific armor and specific weapons may be upgraded normally." also has some interesting interaction with a few items from Chronicles that start out as Masterwork and then allow a player to upgrade them later.

Could I take that unique item and apply a Weapon Modification like Razor Sharp? Following all the rules for Modifications as normal.

All of these Upgrades have static costs and specific minor effects that shouldn't be too hard to track.

Grand Lodge **** Venture-Lieutenant, Canada—Manitoba—Brandon aka kevin_video

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

You can’t upgrade a magic item from a +2 to a +3, but can you add specific gold amount upgrades? Like adding an elemental resistance property to armor or the adaptive weapon property to a bow? I’d think that something that says +1000 gp or +15,000 gp would be possible.

If this has been brought up before I didn’t see it, and wanted to ask and make sure.

Shadow Lodge

Walks Softly wrote:
Questions

"Upgrades" in the form of modifications to the base item (usually denoted by their price being listed as an addition, such as "+150 gp") wouldn't be allowed any more than changing the base material; magic items are what they say they are, and no more.

A shield boss, on the other hand, is actually a separate item that's physically attached after the fact, so there's no issue with attaching one after the fact. You can tell that the shield boss is a separate item not only from the price (which is listed as a stand-alone price, not an addition), but also because the description calls them "a sturdy steel device that fastens to the front of a shield".

So you could buy a shield boss separately and then attach it to a magic shield (since a shield boss is an entirely separate item), but you couldn't take a magic shield and add shield spikes or make it a throwing shield (because those are modifications of the base item itself0).

Derek Blakely wrote:
You can’t upgrade a magic item from a +2 to a +3, but can you add specific gold amount upgrades?

While the rule may have been justified by not being able to determine pricing due to effective enhancement bonus costs, the rule is uniform: no upgrading specific magic items. The rule makes no distinction for effects with a flat price.

Grand Lodge **** Venture-Lieutenant, Canada—Manitoba—Brandon aka kevin_video

SCPRedMage wrote:
Derek Blakely wrote:
You can’t upgrade a magic item from a +2 to a +3, but can you add specific gold amount upgrades?
While the rule may have been justified by not being able to determine pricing due to effective enhancement bonus costs, the rule is uniform: no upgrading specific magic items. The rule makes no distinction for effects with a flat price.

Fair enough. I've made sure to flag my own post for FAQ.

Grand Lodge ** ⦵⦵

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
SCPRedMage wrote:
Walks Softly wrote:
Questions
"Upgrades" in the form of modifications to the base item (usually denoted by their price being listed as an addition, such as "+150 gp") wouldn't be allowed any more than changing the base material; magic items are what they say they are, and no more.

Armor and Weapon Modifications from Adventurer's Armory 2 specifically allow for them to be added to existing Magic items by paying an additional +50% cost of the Upgrade.

So it is different from changing the base material. They usually require an additional feat to use the item after the Modification.


Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

So I am not sure a bout upgrading an item. I have a chronicle with a mule back chord an +1 clouk of resistance. The scenario specifically calls out cloak of resistance 1 and resistance 2 with a muleback chord. Can I upgrade it past +2. Or is +2 the highest I can ever upgrade it to.

*

Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

That is a very good question and one that would impact a character of mine...

**** Venture-Agent, Massachusetts—Southcoast aka JDDyslexia

I can't quite tell based on the wording you've given, but I'm going to venture a guess:

It sounds like the sheet has a special item that combines muleback cords and a cloak +1, and specifically says you can upgrade it to a +2 for a cost. If this is the case, then you cannot modify it past +2.

If it's not a published piece of equipment, then you cannot follow the upgrade rules beyond what is stated. I ran into this issue because a chronicle sheet gave me a necklace of resistance +2, and that was also not upgradable.


Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

It just states that I can upgrade it later to the +2 version later for a specific amount of gold. If I have access to the +2 I could buy the +1 instead.

**** Venture-Agent, Massachusetts—Southcoast aka JDDyslexia

Well, yes. It sounds like the sheet has it printed as a +1 and that you can upgrade it to a +2. So, you could buy it at either +1 or +2 but that's as far as you can go with it.

701 to 723 of 723 << first < prev | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society Roleplaying Guild / How to Upgrade Your Gear in PFS. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Society Roleplaying Guild