Counting as an ifrit and a goblin possible?


Rules Questions


As Ifrits are not humanoids you can't take racial heritage ifrit.
Ifrits can not take racial heritage because they are not humans.

Is there a RAW way to get access to both the burn burn burn feat and the scorching weapons feat line?

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

No.


Well Racial Heritage doesn't say you can take it twice so being human and taking the feat twice is probably no go either.

but if you've got a cool enough backstory your GM may let it fly, pretty heavy feat investment for not alot of bang.


Actually a Wish spell might be enough to pull it off the second herritage ;)

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Build a Custom Magic item to grant you one of the desired feats.

No matter what, you are in GM Fiat area.


None I can think of save for making a custom race. The only thing that comes close is the Aasimar (Outsider) with Scion of Humanity; they gain the race "Humanoid(human)" in addition to having the race Outsider(native).


how hard is it to create a scion of humanity trait for each planetouched that replaces the outsider (native) type with humanoid (human)? just use aasimaar as the base for it.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

It's a cool houserule. I'd allow it.

I wish it existed RAW for Tieflings though.

That's my favorite race!


Shuriken Nekogami wrote:
how hard is it to create a scion of humanity trait for each planetouched that replaces the outsider (native) type with humanoid (human)? just use aasimaar as the base for it.

Keep in mind, Scion doesn't replace outsider(native) with humanoid(human). It adds humanoid(human) to your racial list so you count as both outsider(native) and humanoid(human).

RPG Superstar 2011 Top 16

I've often considered ruling any of the planetouched races more like templates than races unto themselves. I know this goes in the face of Advanced Races, but it seems a lot more rational to me. Dwarven oreads and goblinoid ifrits make perfect sense to me. The trouble here lies in addressing all the fringe cases. This is definitely DM's discretion.


The problem being that race abilities are generally balanced around the race, and when you start mixing the races as they stand now without modification, issues will pop up.


Well, you can make yourself be a goblin ifrit, just like how you can be an elf aasimar, you just only get to count as one. But somehow, I'm guessing that while s+*@ck is nice, you want the mechanical benefits too. Still, I have a half-elf aasimar but I suppose that that's not a good example since aasimar with scion of humanity and racial heritage could mechanically be an aasimar half-elf. But true, there are the dwarf oreads, goblin ifrits makes perfect sense to me too. Best way to do this is ask the GM.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

I am still waiting for the Lawful and Chaotic Outsider descendant races.

Good and Evil already got their races.


What about descendants of Purgatory Outsiders?


So, can I just point out that it doesn't matter whether you can be an Ifrit Goblin because the combo the original post is looking to use doesn't work?

Burn Burn Burn! applies its bonus damage to non-magical fire sources. I would be very confused by any GM that did not consider Scorching Weapons to be magical fire.


Minion GM wrote:
Well, you can make yourself be a goblin ifrit, just like how you can be an elf aasimar, you just only get to count as one. But somehow, I'm guessing that while the (censored) is nice, you want the mechanical benefits too. Still, I have a half-elf aasimar but I suppose that that's not a good example since aasimar with scion of humanity and racial heritage could mechanically be an aasimar half-elf. But true, there are the dwarf oreads, goblin ifrits makes perfect sense to me too. Best way to do this is ask the GM.

I realize that this is rather late but would like to apologize for this post. I'm afraid that the word I was trying to remember the spelling for was shtick as in (in this case) that you could say that you are an ifrit goblin even if you only count as one or the other. I only recently noticed I had been censored and realized why. It was a mistake and I am sorry. My apologies Paizo and whomever has read this thread.

Paizo Employee Organized Play Developer

mplindustries wrote:

So, can I just point out that it doesn't matter whether you can be an Ifrit Goblin because the combo the original post is looking to use doesn't work?

Burn Burn Burn! applies its bonus damage to non-magical fire sources. I would be very confused by any GM that did not consider Scorching Weapons to be magical fire.

I don't see why they wouldn't (assuming there was a way to actually get both). It's not called out as being magical fire, and the description makes it seem more like the weapons are just taking on a nice cherry glow from being in the hands of a being made of fire.


Ssalarn wrote:
mplindustries wrote:

So, can I just point out that it doesn't matter whether you can be an Ifrit Goblin because the combo the original post is looking to use doesn't work?

Burn Burn Burn! applies its bonus damage to non-magical fire sources. I would be very confused by any GM that did not consider Scorching Weapons to be magical fire.

I don't see why they wouldn't. It's not called out as being magical fire, and the description makes it seem more like the weapons are just taking on a nice cherry glow from being in the hands of a being made of fire.

A being made of fire is magical by nature, since, uh, you know, actual beings can't be made of fire.

It also doesn't stack with the Flaming special ability, leading me to believe it is similar.

Paizo Employee Organized Play Developer

mplindustries wrote:
Ssalarn wrote:
mplindustries wrote:

So, can I just point out that it doesn't matter whether you can be an Ifrit Goblin because the combo the original post is looking to use doesn't work?

Burn Burn Burn! applies its bonus damage to non-magical fire sources. I would be very confused by any GM that did not consider Scorching Weapons to be magical fire.

I don't see why they wouldn't. It's not called out as being magical fire, and the description makes it seem more like the weapons are just taking on a nice cherry glow from being in the hands of a being made of fire.
A being made of fire is magical by nature, since, uh, you know, actual beings can't be made of fire.

They're outsiders, they can be made of whatever the lore says they are. And even if you accept the premise that they themselves are made of magical fire (which I don't since that would mean ifrits can be dispelled or cease to exist in anti-magic fields), that doesn't mean there's anything magical about the red-hot piece of steel they're swinging at your face.

If someone used the Spark spell to light some kindling on fire and then tossed that on a pile of hay in a barn would an anti-magic field extinguish the barn fire? I wouldn't think so.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Counting as an ifrit and a goblin possible? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.