Tactician (Tactician)

Rules Questions

The Tactician (figther archetype) gains the Tactician (cavalier ability).

Tactician (Ex)

At 5th level, a tactician gains this ability as the cavalier class feature. He may use this ability once per day at 5th level, plus one additional time for every five levels after 5th (to a maximum of four times at 20th level). If the tactician also has cavalier levels, these levels stack for determining the number of uses per day, and he can take the better progression.

Tactician (Ex)

At 1st level, a cavalier receives a teamwork feat as a bonus feat. He must meet the prerequisites for this feat. As a standard action, the cavalier can grant this feat to all allies within 30 feet who can see and hear him. Allies retain the use of this bonus feat for 3 rounds plus 1 round for every two levels the cavalier possesses. Allies do not need to meet the prerequisites of these bonus feats. The cavalier can use this ability once per day at 1st level, plus one additional time per day at 5th level and for every 5 levels thereafter.

So, do the archetype ability grant the extra feat? or just the ability to share the feat with his allies?

Tactician wrote:
... gains this ability as the cavalier class feature.

Note the "this"; it's the same ability. The text that follows the above just adjusts the ability a bit, namely how often it (the cavalier ability) can be used.

So yes, you get the feat.

Edit for silly ipad capitalization.

Scarab Sages RPG Superstar 2008 Top 4; Contributor; Publisher, Legendary Games

You get the class ability, which includes everything the cavalier ability does, which includes the feat.

In fact, I had actually intended in writing it that it would include the advancement of the cavalier's tactician ability (the two higher-level advancements where you get more feats to use with it and can do it with a quicker action) but alas didn't phrase it the way my brain was thinking it. Take that for what it's worth as authorial RAI, though it has no impact on RAW.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Tactician (Tactician) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions