Following step and Step up and Strike


Rules Questions

Shadow Lodge

One of my players is taking this string of feats and had some questions that I can't answer. So I am asking all of you :-D. BE MY BRAINS!

When using the step up chain:

If the opponent moves more than ten feet does can you player use following step to move 10 of those feet?

If he can does he get an attack at the end of those 10 feet (using step op and strike) even if he doesn't end his move adjacent?

Does Following step provoke from the creature he is following/other people around him when he moves?

Does he get an AOO when the target moves away (assuming no withdraw action) and then another at the end (assuming he can hit him).

THanks in advance!


The player can use these feats only if the ennemy is adjacent and take a 5 ft-step away

"...Whenever an adjacent foe attempts to take a 5-foot step away from you"

So if you move 10 ft, you must finish your move adjacent to this ennemy.
"...so long as you end up adjacent to the foe that triggered this ability."

So, no, the opponent cannot move more than 5 ft, because it's only a 5 ft-step which initiate the use of "Step-up &...".
The player has to end his move adjacent.
The player don't provoke AOO because it's an immediat action
The ennemy don't provoke AOO because it makes an 5 ft-step. If the ennemy moves away, the ennemy provoks AOO of course, but the player cannot use the tree feat "step up".


1) No. Well, yes but ONLY if they can move 10' when using a "5 foot step" action. Which means 99.999% of the time, No.

2) Only if he ends adjacent to him.

3) You are still using a "5 foot step", so no, it shouldn't provoke AoOs. The reason it uses it is that you're still using Step Up to move, which is a 5 foot step.

4) The Step Up, Following Step, Step Up and Strike feat chain won't activate unless they 5' step.

Shadow Lodge

Thanks Cheapy but I am confused. No 4. If that is the case what is the point of following step? If the opponent can only move 5 feet then whats the point of moving 10?


Seriphim84 wrote:
Thanks Cheapy but I am confused. No 4. If that is the case what is the point of following step? If the opponent can only move 5 feet then whats the point of moving 10?

take a better positioning to

- flank the ennemy
- threaten another ennemy

Shadow Lodge

AH thanks, both I and my player were reading the feats wrong. That makes more sense.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Following step and Step up and Strike All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.