Am I Allowed To Have An Imp Familiar (in PFS)?


Pathfinder Society

51 to 63 of 63 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Dark Archive

Pathfinder is a direct successor of DnD and is designed to be as compatible with the previous incarnations of this game as possible. This rule is a standard defined expectation of the game from 1st, 2nd 3rd, 3.5 and all other official and unofficial versions of the game.
Also the pathfinder core assumption has always been that unless they specifically state material from the previous versions of the game are no longer valid OR they make a change that over writes that old rule then it is still considered legal.

Since neither of these has happened and the specific creatures that have this ability are still in use in this version I felt safe making that assumption AND asking in an active thread if they changed it.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Mathwei ap Niall wrote:
Also the pathfinder core assumption has always been that unless they specifically state material from the previous versions of the game are no longer valid OR they make a change that over writes that old rule then it is still considered legal.

Whoa whoa whoa, what? Where'd you get THAT? That would change quite a lot of things....


OK, now you're making s+~+ up. The Additional Resources say what material applies to PFS and the Fiendish Codex aint on it. By your logic we could be playing Abjurant Champions with Anklets of Translocation.

It's fluff from another setting in another game. You might was well argue that dwarves can't use magic because they can't dream and access The Fade in Dragon Age.

I'd also like to point out your misunderstanding of Invisibility rules that imply you've been abusing them. Not all attacks must deal damage. Anything that includes an enemy in its area of effect breaks it, so you're mostly limited to buffs, summons and barriers.

Dark Archive

I also don't see any reason why a mental stat boosting item would transfer it's effects when you body switch. The +4 in headband effects the body that it's equipped on. If your mind/soul leaves that body and possesses another body, you would only get the bonuses from items on the new body.

In absense of a rule that speficies that magical item effects on mental stats transfer, then strict rules as written they effects don't transfer. Could I be convinced in a homegame to have things work this way? Maybe. Would I allow it in a PFS game I ran? No.

And honestly, the point where a player started getting into an arguement with me about devil traits they think should be grandfathered from older editions of DnD, and they don't accept my "it doesn't work that way" explaination, is the point where they get told to leave the table I'm running. The whole basis for this arguement is about the worst case of detrimental powergaming I can think of.


Mathwei ap Niall wrote:

Pathfinder is a direct successor of DnD and is designed to be as compatible with the previous incarnations of this game as possible.

No offense to those who still treat DnD 3.5 material as "Backward compatible," but that whole concept was a bunch of crock designed to get 3.5 players into pathfinder when all pathfinder had was the Core. We had all that 3.5 splat book candy and no one was going to move to a system with out splat book candy. So....they give us the whole "Backward compatibility" PR line and off we go to buy the Core.

Besides...this is PFS not a Home Game. So there is absolutely 0 "backward compatibility" in this case. If the book isn't on the additional resources page it does not exist.

Dark Archive 5/5 Regional Venture-Coordinator, Great Plains

Mathwei ap Niall wrote:

Pathfinder is a direct successor of DnD and is designed to be as compatible with the previous incarnations of this game as possible. This rule is a standard defined expectation of the game from 1st, 2nd 3rd, 3.5 and all other official and unofficial versions of the game.

Also the pathfinder core assumption has always been that unless they specifically state material from the previous versions of the game are no longer valid OR they make a change that over writes that old rule then it is still considered legal.

Since neither of these has happened and the specific creatures that have this ability are still in use in this version I felt safe making that assumption AND asking in an active thread if they changed it.

1. Just because a game is backwards compatible with 3.5 does not mean that legend and lore transfer as well. Golarion is it's own system with it's own mythos with how things came to be (look at the change in drow creation from D&D to PF and you'll get what I'm saying).

2. The core assumption never been what you state. The only things that are valid are what is listed in the additional resource list.

Outsiders die when you kill them on the material plane unless they are summoned (and then they go back as you state).

Shadow Lodge 5/5 5/5 Regional Venture-Coordinator, Northwest aka WalterGM

An interesting thought for the body switching questions.

Situation:
1. Player swaps bodies with imp.
2. While the player is in the imp's body, he reads from a tome of +1 to a stat.
3. The player swaps back.

Question: who has the +1 to the stat? what if it's a physical stat? what if it's a mental stat? does it matter?

Dark Archive 5/5 Regional Venture-Coordinator, Great Plains

Can we use the logic of the Synthesist summoner Eidelon fusion ability to say that physical stats stay with the host body and mental stats stay with the PC?


Nope...synthesis summoners don't exist in PFS. They were all wiped out in the great additional resources purge.

Shadow Lodge 5/5 5/5 Regional Venture-Coordinator, Northwest aka WalterGM

Todd Morgan wrote:
Can we use the logic of the Synthesist summoner Eidelon fusion ability to say that physical stats stay with the host body and mental stats stay with the PC?

That would be my "on the fly" GM ruling of this. And, lets be honest, it's never going to come up. But it's still a good Pathfinder brain teaser to distract us from the monotony of a Monday.

5/5

Walter Sheppard wrote:
Todd Morgan wrote:
Can we use the logic of the Synthesist summoner Eidelon fusion ability to say that physical stats stay with the host body and mental stats stay with the PC?
That would be my "on the fly" GM ruling of this. And, lets be honest, it's never going to come up. But it's still a good Pathfinder brain teaser to distract us from the monotony of a Monday.

As long as people don't make the argument that both get it since the imp is still aware and would/could be reading the book at the exact same time, then I don't care either way. :D


That's the issue I was grappling with. The Imp never leaves his body and still in there and aware. I would have said the Imp gets everything because of this issue. If it was some kind of soul swap then I would rule as Todd and Walter think.

Besides...if a synth summoner reads a tome of Str while in his super suit does the Eidolon keep the buff and not the summoner?


Mathwei ap Niall wrote:

Pathfinder is a direct successor of DnD and is designed to be as compatible with the previous incarnations of this game as possible. This rule is a standard defined expectation of the game from 1st, 2nd 3rd, 3.5 and all other official and unofficial versions of the game.

Also the pathfinder core assumption has always been that unless they specifically state material from the previous versions of the game are no longer valid OR they make a change that over writes that old rule then it is still considered legal.

I'm sorry, but this is simply not correct.

51 to 63 of 63 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Am I Allowed To Have An Imp Familiar (in PFS)? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.